Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Does This Installation Look Correct?

Hey everyone!

My mother just had some guys replace part of her flue pipe which is b-vent. She hired some random guy to install the furnace a few years ago and he did it incorrectly. When he did the install, the flue leaving the furnace was small and was not b-vent. The smaller pipe just went up into the b-vent and that's it.

The system is leaking from the cap, but only when it's cold outside and only when the furnace turns off. My thought is the air isn't hot enough to dissipate properly which is causing condensation. I told her that isn't normal and the problem may likely lie in the fact the furnace was installed incorrectly.

She didn't believe me and hired another random guy (not a licensed company) to come replace it. He told her the water leak is fine and that he'll put something there to catch the water and the heat from the furnace will just burn it away. I'm no pro but that sounds like nonsense to me.

He also just took the larger, 4" b-vent and just put it over the older smaller, non b-vent pipe. He also didn't use any fasteners but used RTV sealant to attach the pieces. I put a carbon monoxide detector about 20 feet from the furnace room but I don't trust that thing either.

This install was done today. I tried to post pics but it wouldn't let me.

Thanks for your help,
    Chris

Post Likes
    Doesn't sound right. I don't recall how many posts you need before you can put pictures up. You can put them on Flickr or other picture page and link to them.

Post Likes
    It's probably flue gas condensation which is usually cause by an over-sized vent or chimney.

Please tell me that the new furnace is NOT a 90%+.

Not to be unkind, but this is what happens when you hire incompetent, unlicensed hacks.

You have a potentially dangerous situation that could be life threatening. Get a COMPETENT pro out there immediately. CO poisoning is not something to take lightly.
    Bob Boan