Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The very humid south
    Posts
    921
    Post Likes

    Honeywell Smartvalve ??

    I was working on a ComfortMaker N8MPN075B12A1 with the Honeywell SV9641M4510 in it.
    I was trying to figure out which wire initiates the heat sequence? I figured it was that "DATA" with but the voltage never changed on it as I cycled the R&W on the board. There are 4 control wires R,C,24VAC & DATA

    Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ (Previous: Texas, Oklahoma, Oregon)
    Posts
    50
    Post Likes
    I feel like this will fall on the pro membership side.

    I'm interested as well and want to know the answer

    Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,272
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by FreeThrowGuy View Post
    I feel like this will fall on the pro membership side.

    I'm interested as well and want to know the answer
    You are correct, but we can give general guidance in this forum.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,272
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ajbeck21 View Post
    I was working on a ComfortMaker N8MPN075B12A1 with the Honeywell SV9641M4510 in it.
    I was trying to figure out which wire initiates the heat sequence? I figured it was that "DATA" with but the voltage never changed on it as I cycled the R&W on the board.

    Can anyone shed some light on this for me?
    What do you mean "voltage never changed"? Did you have voltage or not? If you had voltage, what was it?
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The very humid south
    Posts
    921
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Hey rundawg. yes, it had 24volts on it. But like I said it had 24 volts with R&W jumped or not.. it didn't seem like it was the control wire?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The very humid south
    Posts
    921
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I was checking from ground not common though if that would make a difference??

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,272
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ajbeck21 View Post
    Hey rundawg. yes, it had 24volts on it. But like I said it had 24 volts with R&W jumped or not.. it didn't seem like it was the control wire?
    I want you to google “N8MPN Service Manual 2004 pdf”. When the search results come up, select on “MULTI POSITION SINGLE STAGE 2--STAGE GAS FURNACES”.

    Once you download the manual, go to page 25 to see the voltages for each of the Smart Valve pins.

    These SmartValves are almost always the issue when you have problems with these systems.

    There is your "General Guidance" on this issue.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    983
    Post Likes
    Smart valves were a dumb idea from a paper pusher looking to cheapen up units more than they already are. That being said do you have a flash code?

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    WYO
    Posts
    2,053
    Post Likes
    I never could figure out that terminal, still cant for diagnostics. But it's nice to know now what it should be reading. No info about what to do if it's beyond parameters
    never say never

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    WYO
    Posts
    2,053
    Post Likes
    Thanx rundawg for the link
    never say never

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The very humid south
    Posts
    921
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for that Run...

    So it explains why I was only getting about 17v's or so. I have a bad habit of seeing anything close to 24v & calling it 24.... Lesson learned... AGAIN....

    It still don't really answer the question. Is that the control that will initiate the heating sequence? If it is why did the voltage not changed when I cycled R&W on the board.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The very humid south
    Posts
    921
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    The problem was the induce draft blower was FULL of mud divers & wasp. I'm just trying to learn a lil more about this thing..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,272
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ajbeck21 View Post
    It still don't really answer the question. Is that the control that will initiate the heating sequence? If it is why did the voltage not changed when I cycled R&W on the board.
    As per the electrical page I had you reference in the manual, there is voltage on that "Data" line any time the door interlock switch is closed.

    The Data lines job:

    1. Call for heat signal from board to valve.

    2. Fan "ON" signal from valve back to the board.

    3. Status info on pressure switch, limit switch, ignition state, flame state, ect…
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •