Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 42
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,481
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ARIOSTO1 View Post
    Yes the motor wires L1 and L2 when looking for continuity to equipment ground
    They beep that shouldn’t happen



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Why are you asking for help when you have a motor that is "short to ground". I say apply for pro membership one day, then utilize this site for the knowledge and experience. Long roaf ahead man...

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,087
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ARIOSTO1 View Post
    Yes the motor wires L1 and L2 when looking for continuity to equipment ground
    They beep that shouldn’t happen



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    With both wires disconnected from everything your getting continuity to ground?

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga.
    Posts
    534
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    With both wires disconnected from everything your getting continuity to ground?
    Change the motor!!!

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,087
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Gleng View Post
    Change the motor!!!
    My gut is telling me hes getting back feed thru the controls.

    How does a 220 volt motor operate if grounded without overamping, 1/2 speed, and just getting real hot?

  5. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,481
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    My gut is telling me hes getting back feed thru the controls.

    How does a 220 volt motor operate if grounded without overamping, 1/2 speed, and just getting real hot?
    That's exactly why I suggested he apply for pro membership. Something ain't right

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    If l touch any of the motor lines either L1 or L2 to 120v the motor runs
    l mean with just one leg
    So I want to be sure thats not back feeding somehow


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Any ideas l don’t want to change that motor by mistake!
    This is tricky!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,481
    Post Likes
    This has gone beyond open forum rules...

    Turn off the power, disconnect the motor. Ohm the windings between and to ground. What are your readings?

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,481
    Post Likes
    Its not tricky you just need more experience.

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,087
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ARIOSTO1 View Post
    If l touch any of the motor lines either L1 or L2 to 120v the motor runs
    l mean with just one leg
    So I want to be sure thats not back feeding somehow


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I hope you’re playing with those wires with leather gloves on.

    The only time you check voltage to ground is to make sure there’s NO voltage present. After confirming there’s a good ground.

    To check components disconnect from the power source, ohm across then each leg to ground.

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Changed inducer problem solved
    And yes both leg on the inducer were grounded


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  14. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,087
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ARIOSTO1 View Post
    Changed inducer problem solved
    And yes both leg on the inducer were grounded


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Then it wouldn’t run full speed, over amp and burn up.

    Look up “Fasco Motor Facts”

    Read it!

  15. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    4,433
    Post Likes
    Sounds like Tranes inducers that ran like that, on the older Voyagers.
    UA Local 32 retired as of Jan 2020

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •