Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 42
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga.
    Posts
    534
    Post Likes
    If you have a reading from windings to ground, the breaker should be tripping!!!!I never have seen a gas furnace with 240volts either.Should be 120volts.Is the breaker tripping? If you unplug the wires for the induced draft motor from the board, then give a call for heat,do you get 120 volts to the motor.If you turn the heat off, does 120 to the motor drop out?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Well this is a gas pack, thats why is a fasco 208 240 inducer motor
    M n 712112033
    Now like when u have a one pole contactor
    One leg is life always
    In this case one leg is hot on that board
    The second one goes thru the relay
    For instance l seen grounded condenser and the condenser fan motor runs nonstop on 120 because there’s a circuit to ground
    That won’t trip the breaker


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Grounded don’t mean shorted


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,536
    Post Likes
    You can have a winding to winding short and that might hold true.
    You said you had a short to ground and that will trip a breaker.
    Unless your equipment is not properly grounded.

  5. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  6. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    This is not a short from winding to winding that will trip the trip the breaker
    But if a winding is going’s to ground it will energize and turn the motor
    There’s a electrical flow thru that winding


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,481
    Post Likes
    Answer this. Was the motor running non stop before you touched the unit? I assume not because you changed the ps. You have other issues other then the motor I bet. Like maybe the board something isnt closed when it is.

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  8. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga.
    Posts
    534
    Post Likes
    Ok,never said it was a gas pack!!!Sounded like a residential furnace!!!Now it makes more sense.Got it!!! Still may have board issue, but Im not there.

  9. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I found the motor running but the ps wasn’t closing so l replaced and the furnace fired up
    Then l found the inducer running non stop




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,481
    Post Likes
    If your motor is has a short ohm reading will show the short. Ohm it outand go from there.

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  11. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga.
    Posts
    534
    Post Likes
    If you have one wire hot all the time ,the motor doesn't run until the board relay closes.It then gets 208/230 volts and runs.If the motor is shorted, it would be getting 120 volts.1 hot to ground.Then,the motor should be running half speed.It is only getting 120 volts now.So,is the motor running slower, with no call for heat.I would check the voltage to the motor when there is a call for heat(should be 230).with no call for heat(is it 120 volts)and running slower.Then maybe you are getting a reading to ground,keeping the motor running.But I think the motor would be running slower.

  12. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes thats right, but it runs fast enough to pull the ps on 120v


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    7,239
    Post Likes
    In 2 pages, I've yet to see a single reading taken that was valid to the diagnostic.
    Maybe your test on the windings, but I'm having trouble on understanding what you actually checked.
    It's time to get someone out there to help you, or call tech support.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  14. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  15. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes the motor wires L1 and L2 when looking for continuity to equipment ground
    They beep that shouldn’t happen



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •