Page 3 of 19 FirstFirst 1234567891013 ... LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 243
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    Truth be told, I have used this test for all stats that have batteries in them.

    Typically, an installer has not run a C wire, and the entire working life of the stat depends on the batteries powering up all functions.

    Yesterday, I had to put the old stats back up as a temp measure, and the office will determine which stat goes up as the permanent replacement.

    I miss my Focus Pro 6000. Never had a bad one out of the box like these.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  2. Likes kangaroogod liked this post.
  3. #28
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Elizabethtown, PA
    Posts
    97
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    I installed four yesterday. I get a call today: three have failed.
    Did they work when you installed them?

    Ours didn't work from the start. They worked fine in AC but they wouldn't run heat or RV (energized in heat). We did get a constant 12-18 v on W1 and B regardless of whether there was a call for heat.

    Per our wholesaler, Honeywell has a serial number range of faulty units. I would suggest having your supplier look into it and Honeywell's remedy.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    I returned them to United for credit.

    Do you have a bulletin with the serial number range?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #30
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    564
    Post Likes
    The two I replaced were both 1926 date code

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    993
    Post Likes
    The constant power on w1 is normal in heat pump configuration. You have to use the w2/aux and e.
    I made that mistake once. Then i got a constant heat and cool call. I ended up calling tech support over it. I felt really silly when i realized that the heatpump wiring diagram showed nothing on w1.

    Sent in a state of increasing entropy using Tapatalk

  7. #32
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Elizabethtown, PA
    Posts
    97
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by R600a View Post
    The constant power on w1 is normal in heat pump configuration. You have to use the w2/aux and e.
    I made that mistake once. Then i got a constant heat and cool call. I ended up calling tech support over it. I felt really silly when i realized that the heatpump wiring diagram showed nothing on w1.

    Sent in a state of increasing entropy using Tapatalk
    That was a typo. I meant W2. These were all wired and programmed correctly. I know what you mean though. I've installed a few in heat pump only (no back up heat) systems and parked the white wire on the W terminal. I erroneously thought programming for HP only, no backup would not send anything through white. Not so, you end up with a fan running constantly once there is a call for heat.

    I do not have a service bulletin. I am currently waiting on a call from my technical service from one of my wholesalers. I installed my first T6 since 10/9 today and it has the same problem. I even bought it from a different distributor hoping it came from a different shipment. I'll see if I can get more info.

    I've had zero problems with T4's, T6WF's, and T10's.

  8. #33
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Elizabethtown, PA
    Posts
    97
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by rglasgow View Post
    The two I replaced were both 1926 date code
    Two of the original five bad T6's haven't been picked up yet. They are 1918 and 1922. Today's is 1940. I think this problem may not be as limited as I was originally told.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    993
    Post Likes
    Man i hope we dont start having these problems. Those are my favorite T stats.

    Sent in a state of increasing entropy using Tapatalk

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    Most of my work is gas-fired units, as were the units where I installed the T6 stats the other day.

    It's extremely rare for me to find a heat pump in a rooftop unit....although there are some places that don't have gas. Usually they are very old malls, and there was no gas main nearby when the mall was built.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  11. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    14
    Post Likes
    A friend in the trade told me that some of the new honeywell tstats are removing the signal from w or y if there is a short in the wiring. A flooring guy had run a 3" screw into the new tstat wiring and shorted y to common. He thought he had a bad tstat and rep it. when the new one did the same thing (no volt on y) he checked the wiring and found it shorted.

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    As my tool supplier used to say on the side of their truck:

    "Test....don't guess."

    Before I replace a stat, I test it's output if there are batteries, and if not, I jump out the functions directly on the stat base to prove the wiring is good.

    It's a bad idea to replace a stat without making sure the wiring is good.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  13. Likes R600a, Core_d, BALloyd, vin lashon liked this post.
  14. #38
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    564
    Post Likes
    Took bad stats back to distributor today. They had heard about a recall from Honetwell but did not have any details.

  15. #39
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,720
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    As my tool supplier used to say on the side of their truck:

    "Test....don't guess."

    Before I replace a stat, I test it's output if there are batteries, and if not, I jump out the functions directly on the stat base to prove the wiring is good.

    It's a bad idea to replace a stat without making sure the wiring is good.
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

Page 3 of 19 FirstFirst 1234567891013 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •