Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    1
    Post Likes

    ALC Integration IP Address Change

    Hi All,

    I'm working on installing a new BMS system in a commercial building, and we must integrate to an existing ALC system.

    The current ALC system consists of one of each of the following:
    -ME-LGR25
    -MEx816u
    -MEx48u
    -Touchscreen unit displaying WebCtrl

    The small modules communicate BACnet to the ME-LRG25, and we need to use BACnet over IP to connect the ME-LGR to our BMS. We've been able to log into the front end on WebCtrl, and we can view the IP addresses for the modules connected. We have also figured out how to change the "server" IP address, but obviously this does not change the address of the individual control modules.

    How do we change the IP address of the ME-LGR25 so that we can absorb it into our BMS?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    147
    Post Likes
    Depending on your version of WebCTRL you can go to the LGR Property page on the network tree then stop your connection in WebCTRL CFG page . The IP address will then be editable. Change it on the properties page then start the connection back up and download
    Use the default addressing scheme which uses the MAC address as the last string of the address
    Use a usb-k to putty into the LGR.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    2,476
    Post Likes
    The small modules are actually expanders and from my understanding communicate via CAN to the LGR. They are just IO with no programming or AST in them.

    kontrol out
    "Good" - Jocko
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Interoperability? You can't handle interoperability!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora Watch it here!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    VA/DC
    Posts
    308
    Post Likes
    you want to ask maxburns

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,678
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by kontrolphreak View Post
    from my understanding communicate via CAN to the LGR.
    CAN!?!?! Who wuda thought....
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,074
    Post Likes
    We use a USB-K to change IP in the LGR. Pretty sure you can use any RS485 dongle and attach it to the Rnet port to accomplish the same thing.

    Disconnect anything attached to Rnet port and S2 port, turn on dip switch 1 and reboot the module. Putty in serial 115200, hit enter to get the menu to make IP changes.

    Put wiring and dip switch back.

    Newer drivers also have a procedure to change IP remotely from WebCTRL.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,678
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxBurn View Post
    Pretty sure you can use any RS485 dongle and attach it to the Rnet port to accomplish the same thing.
    Yes, I can confirm this.
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •