Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes

    Exposed thermostat wire splice at condenser ok?

    Hello,

    I recently had my ACs replaced and it looks like they spliced the thermostat wires outside that go to the condensor because they change the position and needed extra length.

    What I noticed is that the splices are exposed to the elements instead of wrapped or being sealed in some way. This doesn't seem correct to me.

    Please advise.

    Thanks!

    Name:  20191026_123703.jpg
Views: 248
Size:  55.9 KBName:  20191026_123540.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  100.6 KB
    Last edited by Barelyhandy81; 10-26-2019 at 12:47 PM. Reason: Added pictures

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,109
    Post Likes
    There are other ways to do that.

    Wire nuts are hats not cups!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    1,557
    Post Likes
    Unprofessional.

    I would have at least electrical taped it but pointed the wire nut up to keep rain from getting in it.

    Just common courtesy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gladstone, Oregon (Portland)
    Posts
    2,012
    Post Likes
    Ya. Too much room for something to go wrong there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,377
    Post Likes
    Is it registered, ( indoor/outdoor section ) warranty decreases significantly if never registered.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks. Yes I did register the equipment for the warranty.

    What would be the best remedy for this?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,109
    Post Likes
    Splice the wire inside the house and run a new one!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,377
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Barelyhandy81 View Post
    Thanks. Yes I did register the equipment for the warranty.

    What would be the best remedy for this?
    Best remedy, IMO run the stat wire in a dedicated sealtite/liquidtite 1/2” and fittings on each ends.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,109
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    Splice the wire inside the house and run a new one!
    Quote Originally Posted by Bazooka Joey View Post
    Best remedy, IMO run the stat wire in a dedicated sealtite/liquidtite 1/2” and fittings on each ends.
    In Sealtight!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    27,174
    Post Likes
    Best would be an entire new control wire run from end-to-end.

    But a fully acceptable remedy would be a water tight electrical box mounted to the outside of the foundation wall with the connection made inside the box. Preferably with both wires entering the bottom of the box.

    A lesser but adequate remedy would be to make the connection as pictured but with the wire nuts filled with No-Ox paste before screwing them on and then secured with the open ends of the wire nuts down.

    PHM
    --------


    Quote Originally Posted by Barelyhandy81 View Post
    Thanks. Yes I did register the equipment for the warranty.

    What would be the best remedy for this?
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,377
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    In Sealtight!
    Ya, Ya,...that stuff..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,726
    Post Likes
    Tape it with rubber or electrical tape. Connecting the wires outside the cabinet may be required on some equipment, as the low voltage wiring is class 2, and cannot be located within the same compartment as class 1 without a shield to separate them. Some manufacturers install this shield, and some don't. Not really a big deal.
    The wire connections below the refrigerant tubing should be wrapped with tape. Rubber tape usually works pretty well.
    I don't really think seal tight is a good option because you leave the ends opened which allows water or condensation to occur. This in turn will cause your wires to take much longer to dry. You could seal the ends, but is all that really necessary? Just use some rubber tape and be done with it.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •