Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Pevely MO
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes

    Compressor check

    Question on compressor

    I was told by instructor that start-common ohms plus run-common ohms should equal start-run ohms. If you are off by .1 or .2 ohms, is that an indication of a probkem with compressor.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    2,905
    Post Likes
    No, .1 or .2 ohms is not a big deal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    richmond virginia
    Posts
    47
    Post Likes
    no youll find that to actually be the norm because .1 might be the true reading or it might be the tiny bit of room that all test instruments give themselves for flaws.
    also that trick only works with single phase. with 3 phase that wont work. the numbers will all be the same

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,211
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by rb9594 View Post
    Question on compressor

    I was told by instructor that start-common ohms plus run-common ohms should equal start-run ohms. If you are off by .1 or .2 ohms, is that an indication of a probkem with compressor.
    A compressor is just a motor so

    Start Reading
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    29
    Post Likes
    Thanks for some reading material. I just love how thru the whole article it keeps going...FACT.
    But all joking aside lots of FACTS in that pdf.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,809
    Post Likes
    Unless it is a Scott-Tee compressor.

    https://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread...iterature-typo


    Quote Originally Posted by kennybaker2014 View Post
    no youll find that to actually be the norm because .1 might be the true reading or it might be the tiny bit of room that all test instruments give themselves for flaws.
    also that trick only works with single phase. with 3 phase that wont work. the numbers will all be the same
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Medford, N.Y.
    Posts
    6,229
    Post Likes
    Is the comp overload internal to the comp body? Going S-R does not go thru the overload.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    richmond virginia
    Posts
    47
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Unless it is a Scott-Tee compressor.

    https://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread...iterature-typo
    Thats an itereating setup. Never seen one in person but i guess now i know that its out there. Thanks for pointing that out Bbeerme

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,809
    Post Likes
    Yeah, it's a new one on me as well.


    Quote Originally Posted by kennybaker2014 View Post
    Thats an itereating setup. Never seen one in person but i guess now i know that its out there. Thanks for pointing that out Bbeerme
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •