Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Chilled glycol loop pressure differential

I've been offered a chief engineer position at another data center. One of their priorities upon my acceptance is to get their energy use and efficiency improved. During the interviews, I sniffed around their facility and saw that they're running at 35psi differential on their chilled glycol loop. I run a 7psid on my loop at my present facility. I can't imagine how they're getting any kind of decent heat transfer from their CRAH units at the speed that glycol's screaming through their coils, but I'm not an engineer. Is there anyone out there who can offer any comparisons from their own facilities?

Another interesting issue...our chilled loop's load comes in right about 900kW, which equates to about 240 tons (calculated from flow vs deltaT on my chiller). Their load is almost identical, but they're running almost flat out on their 500-ton chiller, and are preparing to start using TWO. Something's not adding up someplace.

Post Likes
    The way I see it is with a higher flow rate the temperature rise of the glycol through the coil would be less. Because you maintain a higher temperature difference compared to the room temperature through the whole coil then you should be getting better heat transfer (higher temperature differential between the glycol leaving temp and the RA temp, and colder supply temp, unless you are reaching equilibrium with your glycol supply and discharge air.)

A slower flow rate may feel like you are picking up more heat because of a higher temperature rise through the coil, but because your coil temp is closer to your return air temp it’s heat transfer would be less. Heat transfer is greater with a higher temperature difference. If you pick up the same amount of heat but spread it out over a larger GPM then the temp rise will be lower even though the BTUH was the same.