+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Wrong Equipment

Post Likes

Wrong Equipment

I just discovered my girlfriend had a staight ac installed in her new house when it was contracted to be a Heat Pump? The house was built in 2017. Wouldn't the contractor be liable for huge energy savings loss, besides replacing equipment? I am a contractor my self and have never experienced this situation.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by drfreeze1 View Post
    I just discovered my girlfriend had a staight ac installed in her new house when it was contracted to be a Heat Pump? The house was built in 2017. Wouldn't the contractor be liable for huge energy savings loss, besides replacing equipment? I am a contractor my self and have never experienced this situation.
    What was done for heat during last winter?

Post Likes
    They installed an electric furnace. There was no way for her to know unless she was technically savy. The inspector even passed it as a heat pump. I have little faith in inspectors.

Post Likes
    Electric heat in the Air Handler for your heating system, or baseboard or a warm air furnace?

Certainly if you have electric heaters in the blower section, then yes that can get expensive, the reason where the Heat Pump would help offset that cost.

Chances they would only need to replace the OD section when ( whatever you decide to do ). Making sure the TXV ( if currently using a TXV metering device as opposed to a piston metering device ) would need to be Heat Pump rated.

Register the new OD Heat Pump unit. Get a matched system.

What state does she live in?

Post Likes
    Electric heat in the air handler which is a 1 to 1 ratio as far as efficiency. A heat pump could have as high as a 3 to 1 efficiency.

Post Likes
    Did she have a contract?
    If I do a job in 30 minutes it's because I spent 30 years learning how to do that in 30 minutes. You owe me for the years, not the minutes.