Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes

    Restoring AX station from a backup .dist file

    Like the title says, trying to get the station back up after a Jace died. The dist file has content, but when converting to a .zip format, windows says there's nothing to extract. Am I up a creek here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,883
    Post Likes
    Look at the size of the file. If the size is 0, then yes. You are out of luck. I have had JACEs give me a backup that is 0kb from time to time, usually when they are almost dead already.
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by numbawunfela View Post
    Look at the size of the file. If the size is 0, then yes. You are out of luck. I have had JACEs give me a backup that is 0kb from time to time, usually when they are almost dead already.
    Nope, both the dist and the converted zip show about 3mb.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,883
    Post Likes
    Usually they do extract just fine... the fact that it does not is likely all you need to know. However, you can restore from .dist without extracting it. Use the platform's distribution file installer to install that .dist backup onto the replacement JACE. If that does not work I dunno what to tell ya.
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    181
    Post Likes
    When you were "converting from a dist to zip" is it through some utility or just by renaming the file extension? I would just install the .dist, but if some program is having trouble just try manually changing the extension.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by theintegrator View Post
    When you were "converting from a dist to zip" is it through some utility or just by renaming the file extension? I would just install the .dist, but if some program is having trouble just try manually changing the extension.
    I just renamed it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR