Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 53
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Dayton Oh
    Posts
    1,813
    Post Likes
    Best to stay in the same HP range. Bigger HP are to run bigger fans/more cfm.

    What about correct RPM? You went from 3-4 speeds to one speed? We know we’re moving enough air?

    What about fan speed for a/c.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. Likes Metalman0880 liked this post
  3. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    23,972
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by wxguo1 View Post
    I may have overlooked. I thought using higher HP to replace lower HP would be OK.
    There’s a reason the manufacturers choose a size!

    Search for Fasco Motor Facts.

  4. #16
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    7
    Post Likes
    Are the unused speed taps isolated/insulated from the power?
    If you somehow energize more than one tap the motor OL would cut out.

    Are voltage, rotation and run cap correct?

  5. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    9,451
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by RLJN View Post
    Are the unused speed taps isolated/insulated from the power?
    If you somehow energize more than one tap the motor OL would cut out.

    Are voltage, rotation and run cap correct?
    Generally if you energize more than 1 tap you will get more than just an OL opening.

  6. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    77,933
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by wxguo1 View Post
    I may have overlooked. I thought using higher HP to replace lower HP would be OK.
    No, an under loaded PSC motor doesn't do well. They tend to over heat.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    941
    Post Likes
    Rescue motor has a HP range. It changes depending on the cap you use.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  8. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    925
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by wxguo1 View Post
    they are both furnace blower motors. I have only two wires, black and white.
    So you replaced 4 speed (unknown hp) motors at the moment with 1 speed motors? You don’t know if hp ratings are the same? What are they doing for heat/AC? Are they only heat only? If not someone’s going to open high limit when they want heat.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    1,217
    Post Likes
    I wonder if the evap coils are dirty/clogged.

    Sent from my LG-G710 using Tapatalk

  10. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,261
    Post Likes
    You can use the link in my signature line below, "how to become a professional member," in order to get all the details...and once you have the required number of posts, THEN you should submit your credentials..... not before.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  11. Likes thatguy liked this post
  12. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    Definitely sounds like it's wired wrong....better check the schematic again and verify proper rotation....if it happened twice and they were both universal it definitely sounds suspect

  13. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,343
    Post Likes
    I wish all motors only had black and white ...

    You need to have someone help you buy the correct motor

  14. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,187
    Post Likes
    Image had he been up against a ECM

  15. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    26,090
    Post Likes
    What was the rated amp draw of the old motors?
    What was the rated amp draw of the new motors?
    What was the actual amp draw you measured?
    What was the rated voltage of the old motors?
    What was the actual voltage you measured?

    PHM
    -------

    Quote Originally Posted by wxguo1 View Post
    I have two customers whom I replaced the blower motors for them. Interesting and frustrating, in both cases approximately two hours after I left, the motor stopped working again. When I tested the motors, the windings seem OK, but the motors are all very hot, not working anymore, even if directly connected to power line. capacitors are good. I used universal motors(two wires not including the capacitor wires) to replace the four wires motors. Anyone could point out what I did wrong? Thanks ahead!
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •