Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    North Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    22
    Post Likes

    Canatal high pressure alarm on chilled water unit ?

    i was working on a series 9 Canatal chilled water coil server room unit today that wouldn't restart after a power outage. There was a fan overcurrent alarm that was cleared but it still wouldn't restart until clicking the 'reset setting' button' on the data re-initialization page on page 4 of the test mode tab.
    That made it run again with cooling engaged but it is showing a 'high pressure' alarm on startup now. That seems odd when it has no compressors and is only using a chilled water coil. It hasn't happened before either, as far as i can see on the history. Has anyone seen this problem before ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    603
    Post Likes
    I’m not familiar with that unit. Could it be high loop pressure on the chilled coil? Is there a pressure switch or pressure transducer on that circuit?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Quickly, I must hurry, for there go my people and I am their leader!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    24,326
    Post Likes
    How warm did the chilled water get? May have to throttle flow down until below minimum temp!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    3,517
    Post Likes
    From what I can find that unit has several configurations available, with or without compressors. Maybe there is one control panel available that is configured, or programmed, to each application. Maybe that programming was affected by the outage. I would verify the correct programming is still installed.
    In honor of RichardL: "Ain't 'None' of us as smart as 'All' of us".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    North Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    22
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the input. I talked to Vlad at ClimateWorx today who let me know the alarm configurations must have been altered on the reset. Sure enough that's what it was... the low and high pressure alarms and short cycling alarms had been activated after the reset. It was fairly easy to correct it on the alarms config page.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    5,798
    Post Likes
    Good ol’ canatal units. Man i really dislike Climateworx and canatal. Glad u got it fixed. You can download the m52 IOM from their website


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    3,517
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by isleofvanman View Post
    Thanks for the input. I talked to Vlad at ClimateWorx today who let me know the alarm configurations must have been altered on the reset. Sure enough that's what it was... the low and high pressure alarms and short cycling alarms had been activated after the reset. It was fairly easy to correct it on the alarms config page.
    Glad you got it solved.
    Thanks for keeping us updated.
    In honor of RichardL: "Ain't 'None' of us as smart as 'All' of us".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •