Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 49
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    By the way....there are a couple of companies now making plastic inserts to use between the mating surfaces of a flares, because it has become so common for Mini Splits to have leaking flare joints.

    I think one of them is called Flare Seal.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  2. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    Rectorseal makes one called Flaretite.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,103
    Post Likes
    .

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    226
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    By the way....there are a couple of companies now making plastic inserts to use between the mating surfaces of a flares, because it has become so common for Mini Splits to have leaking flare joints.

    I think one of them is called Flare Seal.
    they sell the flare inserts online,I never used them before, in my opinion i dont like flare connections. If I can braze i would braze & never worry about it leaking,thank you for your recommendation.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    226
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    Rectorseal makes one called Flaretite.


    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    226
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    Was that your company's installer?
    no,the job was done by someone else years ago,for me to find the leak my plan is to close the service valves at the condensing unit, & isolate the 3 zones & then pressure to 500psi with nitro, to determine which circuit is losing the pressure & then proceed with repair.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hibbing, MN
    Posts
    805
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nytech28 View Post
    no,the job was done by someone else years ago,for me to find the leak my plan is to close the service valves at the condensing unit, & isolate the 3 zones & then pressure to 500psi with nitro, to determine which circuit is losing the pressure & then proceed with repair.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Just had one exactly like this. We isolated the bad circuit and disconnected it from the system. The homeowner did not want to tear into the walls. At least they are up and running on two heads.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    1,557
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nytech28 View Post
    no,the job was done by someone else years ago,for me to find the leak my plan is to close the service valves at the condensing unit, & isolate the 3 zones & then pressure to 500psi with nitro, to determine which circuit is losing the pressure & then proceed with repair.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Sounds like a good idea, though 500 PSI might be a little much unless it's for 410A

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Beach
    Posts
    1,011
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nytech28 View Post
    no,the job was done by someone else years ago,for me to find the leak my plan is to close the service valves at the condensing unit, & isolate the 3 zones & then pressure to 500psi with nitro, to determine which circuit is losing the pressure & then proceed with repair.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    You might not want to go up to 500 psi. i never go higher then 300 psi. Good luck. There are times it takes a while to find the leak.
    Blue Fox

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,252
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nytech28 View Post
    the flare connections are inside the walls, to check for leak & the customer not ready to cut walls yet, easy seal would be next option.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Then it was installed wrong!

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,252
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by lentz View Post
    You might not want to go up to 500 psi. i never go higher then 300 psi. Good luck. There are times it takes a while to find the leak.
    On 410A systems they want up too 600PSIG!

  12. Likes JeffWil liked this post.
  13. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    1,557
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    On 410A systems they want up too 600PSIG!
    Sheesh, that's crazy.

    Imagine the compressor shooting a pin at you at 600 PSI, go right through you I imagine.

  14. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    226
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    it's a 410A fujistu unit.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •