Post Likes

Trane Absorbtion Chiller - addition isolation valve.

Hello. I’m a plant engineer, and while I know systems I’m relatively new to the absorbtion chillers on the site ( Trane, steam fed, 1,000 ton). In June the chiller went down due to plugged screens which ‘salted’ up the machine. After cutting open the belly and cleaning/replacing the screens the machine was sealed back up and started today. About 20 minutes after starting the machine went down again, due to a shorted motor on the bribe pumps. My Trane tech is telling me he never check that motor as it was ‘fine’. Now I’m looking at a $00k repair bill, mostly from having to drain the brine, then refill. The question I asked is can we install isolation valves on each side of the brine pumps so in the future I don’t need to drain all the brine ? Trane is telling me no, that the valves have the possibility to leak and cause issue, however this now the second time in a month I have to open the machine up, introducing god knows what for containments.

Post Likes
    It is possible to " suspend " the solution . It is a bit tricky but possible. I have performed the task on model " A " & " B " machines . The procedure is listed in the Trane absorbtion chiller manual .

Post Likes
    It is possible but I would never do it in house. I've said this before and I'll say it again, if you have equipment that costs hundreds of thousands of dollars and you don't pay a contractor to PM said equipment you are asking for trouble. You should have a contract with an outfit that is big enough to have insurance for when they miss maintenance like this and are responsible for the costs associated with it. That being said, I'd also contract a large enough outfit to do repairs like this so they are responsible for the costs when they miss things like this. A chiller this size is very easy to destroy if you cut corners.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Mrf150 View Post