Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Fieldpiece Job link proves

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes

    Fieldpiece Job link proves

    Hi all,

    So I just received a set of the Job Link probes from Fieldpiece. They seem really cool for the most part, but I have a question for those of you who also have them. Are the fittings on the pressure probes slightly shallow, as in not as deep as normal hose fittings? I had a really hard time getting them attached to my unit at the house and finally realized that there doesn’t seem to be as much thread as on normal hose fittings...not sure if it’s just me not being used to them or what?

    Also, how prevalent are the connection issues? As in the connecting and reconnecting? I had some issues, but not terrible, I was also going through a stone wall. My iPad seemed to have slightly less trouble though so maybe it’s just my phone? I plan to try measurequick as well but didn’t get to yet.

    Looking forward to all feedback!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Tahoe
    Posts
    47
    Post Likes
    I don't have a set of those, but.. 1) make sure the o-rings are seated down well 2) check that the schrader depressors are screwed in well 3) if you want to compare to your manifold hoses, just count the exposed threads and then let us all know.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga.
    Posts
    726
    Post Likes
    I have not had any problems attaching my Job probes to a condensing unit.I have a charging tee attached to the low side probe to add gas.If you think the threads are short, maybe add a quick connect charging tee to the probes.yellow jacket and appoint make a good charging tee with a finger tight connection.You could also use a core remover to attach your probe, then you have a shutoff and an extra port .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    202
    Post Likes
    No, they look to be standard fittings. I've been using a set for over a year now and no problems.
    As to connection issues, well that's a mixed bag, with some really good news. First, let's talk about the FP app. It is sketchy, some phones/tablets it likes will have only minor connection issues. If it doesn't like your device, you're in for a long, aggravating time. I only use the FP app when I just want a quick pressure, or temp, or weight scale reading. It'll work, and you can service systems with it, but it can, sometimes, be frustrating. It is a vast improvement from when it first came out, but it still can have it's moments.

    The good news is, if you use your probes with MeasureQuick, you'll have no problems at all. MQ is a more robust app, with lots of details about your equipment, similar to iMan. It is, in my book, the best app out there and connection issues are non existant with it and FP probes. I've never had a problem since I started using it. It does have a learning curve, but nothing extraordinary. You'll be glad you use it for sure.

    As to probe distance, it's a non issue for me. I've never had a problem, even around commercial buildings. I can get roughly 300 ft line of sight at my house, even with one garage wall in between it still goes that far, More walls, obviously mean less distance, but I've never had an issue that I couldn't move one way or another and solve it. Most of the time, it's just not an issue.

    I've gone to not using a manifold ever, and so far, I haven't had any need to go back, that's how good they are.

    Hope this helps

  5. Likes TruTech-Bill liked this post.
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    I have this exact problem with my Fieldpiece probes as well. 90% of service valves I can get a bite on, but the rest I have to resort to a charging tee or hose. The threaded fitting is definitely more shallow on the probe than any of my other tools. I purchased the whole JL3KH6 kit new in June, 2020. These have been great tools apart from this frustration. I wonder now if the fittings were manufactured out of specification on some.

    Benjamin
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    7,642
    Post Likes
    Buy a core depressor. Problem solved.
    AOP Rules: Rules For Equipment Owners.

    Free online load calculator: http://www.loadcalc.net/


    There = not here. Their = possessive pronoun. They're = they are
    It's = contraction of it is. Its = the possessive form of it
    Too = also. To = expressing motion. Two = 2
    Then = after that, next. Than = indicates a comparison.
    Questions should end with a question mark "?" Statements end with a period "."

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    202
    Post Likes
    I just checked mine and they are exactly the same as a YJ hose end. Here's some pics. I'm guessing there's a manufacturing defect.



  9. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Thanks for checking yours! It looks like I'll be contacting Fieldpiece about this. My YJ Mantooth 67002 probes pull in 1 or 2 threads further. I still prefer using the Fieldpiece over my "nunchuck" probes.

    Using a core depressor has been a workable solution but it's an added step that I'd rather not deal with. I wish the probe had a manual core depressor! That would seem to be the best way to minimize refrigerant losses.

    Benjamin
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    202
    Post Likes
    Holy cow! Batman, that looks like not near enough engagement. Just from your previous picture, it looks like the inner barrel that holds the gasket to too tall. Wow, that's surprising, I'm sure FP will make it right. Good luck..

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Just an update. Fieldpiece sent me two new ones and I just shipped the bad ones back. I'm very glad that I didn't have to send them off and wait for a repair! Just out of curiosity, before I packed up the bad ones I checked their readings against the new ones. All four were within a half psi of each other at 134 psi. I'm glad I ran across this thread and Fieldpiece took care of the issue!

    Benjamin

  12. #11
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    202
    Post Likes
    Fantastic, I was sure they'd get you taken care of. I use mine almost everyday, and I got them shortly before they were released, and no problems. I just wish FP would straighten out the app, but I realize the cost involved in a revamp is tremendous.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •