Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New system, but high indoor humidity

Post Likes

New system, but high indoor humidity

Yesterday I had an American Standard system installed in my 2k square foot, 2 story house.

3 ton 16 SEER AC with new coil
    80k BTU 80% furnace, variable speed motor
    Humidifier
    Thermostat

The thermostat shows that the indoor humidity is 62%. It is 72 degrees outside with 30% humidity.

The humidifier is turned off.

The fan is on constant "ON." This is the setting the installer told me I should use in order to keep circulating air and keep the upstairs and downstairs temperatures even or close to it.

They are coming back today to take a look. I am not a professional, so what kind of questions should I be asking? I am fearful, but hopeful, that I won't get the runaround. Prior to installation, the owner himself said the indoor humidity should be between 40 and 50%.

The lowest it got overnight, when air temperatures outside were in the 50s, is 56%.

With my old system I never had a humidity reading on the thermostat, but it sure felt cooler and drier than it did in here yesterday, despite the temperature inside being 71 degrees.

Post Likes
    Was your old system the same size, or even smaller? Was a Manual J load calculation performed to determine what size is actually needed? Equipment which is too big will not dehumidify because it does not run long enough.
    It may be as simple as there is not enough load when it is 72° outside to need air conditioning. Only at design conditions (normal highest outdoor temperatures) will the system run long cycles and reach 50% RH. During low load times the best thing is a ducted dehumidifier added to the system.
    https://www.hvac20.com/ High efficiency equipment alone does not provide home comfort and efficiency. HVAC2.0 is a process for finding the real needs of the house and the occupants. Offer the customer a menu of work to address their problems and give them a probability of success.