+ Reply to Thread

Thread: I want to learn building automation

Post Likes

I want to learn building automation

Hi.
    I Know this is a big topic, but i gotta start somewhere.
    I am 32 year old from Norway.
    I've been working as an electrician for ten years, but two years ago I took a chance on a job in a HVAC company (mostly working on air handling units).
    I really want to learn about programmming regulators and setting up building automation systems. The city i l live in is full of old Johnson DX9100 units that will need to be replaced the next years. I want to be able to do that. where do i start learning? In my company there is BAS knowledge so i need to do it by myself.

I know a lot about the physical points, and basic knowledge about function block programming.

Maybe there is some equipment i can buy and set up at home to play with?

Sorry about the bad english.

Post Likes
    Try looking here:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGJ...able_polymer=1

Niagara is something that is available worldwide and can be connected to multiple manufacturer's BACnet, Modbus, or Lonworks controllers. Programming logic in the controllers is typically either block-based or line-based and will vary form one manufacturer to the next. If you understand basic logic (IF, THEN, AND, OR) it applies to any of the languages. There are many controllers that you could buy used (Ebay), the challenge is getting the software. Consider some Sedona based devices, they usually have some sort of free software.

Post Likes
    Google Honeywell Grey Manual and download the pdf.
    The controls manuals sold here are some of the best in the industry: ATP Website.
    If you can find a pdf copy of ASHREA 36P there are good examples of sequence of operations for equipment.

kontrol out
    "Good" - Jocko
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor