Post Likes

Walk in Cooler and Freezer icing over

I'm a Student at a Tech school, for HVAC/R and we have a client/customer who owns a restaurant, and they have a walk in cooler/walk in freezer combination.( the cooler leads into the freezer.) Anyways; they both have large sheets of ice forming on the evaporator to the point where it's choking of the fans and limiting air flow. The ice is forming from the very top of the unit and then going down the unit. We are at a loss of what could be causing it. In the freezer the heaters are doing their job and the areas that are heated are not freezing as badly. the Employees have been shutting the system off when unloading trucks into the freezer/cooler combo, if that makes a diffrence.

Post Likes
    Slight Update, It's just the freezer we are having problems with, I mispoke about the cooler, We think we might have the cooler issue nailed down, freezer still no idea why it's icing over the way it is.

Post Likes
    How long is defrost and how does it terminate (time temperature or both) some pics of the ice formation might help. Check out defrost circuit thoroughly if you can’t find fault defrost manually and get every last sliver of ice. If you leave even the slightest amount it will betray you then monitor ice formation every day, week, etc till you find the issue
    Honeywell you can buy better but you cant pay more

I told my wife when i die to sell my fishing stuff for what its worth not what i told her i paid for it

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by crazzycajun View Post
    How long is defrost and how does it terminate (time temperature or both) some pics of the ice formation might help. Check out defrost circuit thoroughly if you can’t find fault defrost manually and get every last sliver of ice. If you leave even the slightest amount it will betray you then monitor ice formation every day, week, etc till you find the issue