Post Likes

Creating Duct System For Window Unit

Hello everyone!

Homeowner and DIY type here coming to these forums with only one really pressing question. I have no previous or current experience in HVAC, so please go easy on me

I have been renovating a section of our garage now to use as a home office. The portion I am renovating is a roughly 150 sq. ft space that is currently housing a 5k BTU Danby unit. I understand that the unit is already not properly rated for the square footage, but the unit is new and we got it at a steal and quite frankly it's been more than suitable for the space. But because of my line of work, I require the space I'm in to be sound proofed to a degree and this thing is just too loud for the space. So I've been looking into cost effective alternatives to sound proofing the AC unit itself and that has turned up no results that would be effective in such a small space. So the conclusion I've come to is that I will to move the AC to a separate facility and create a duct system that will flow into the office!