Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Ice-o-matic trips GFCI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    23
    Post Likes

    Ice-o-matic trips GFCI

    I'm a 9 year commercial refrigeration guy and get the call: ice machine is tripping the GFCI. It's an ICEOMATIC ICE0500HA4. I dig into it, and sure enough it trips the GFCI
    . It does this any time the ice curtain opens, whether I did it by hand in the middle of the cycle or at the end when it harvests. I tried a couple different outlets with the same result. I inspected the wiring, looked for shorts to ground, ohm'd everything I could think of. Finally I called ICEOMATIC and tech support says this is a common problem and the outlet shouldn't be GFCI. I'm not buying it. Any ideas? No, I didn't try the machine on a non GFCI outlet. Couldn't find one in the whole restaurant.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    28,739
    Post Likes
    Refrigeration doesn’t like GFIC’s.

    Have sparkle change the GFCI somewhere too sensitive.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    7,154
    Post Likes
    Tech support told you Dont use a GFCI .... So if you want the problem to go away , do as advised

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    9,725
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    Refrigeration doesn’t like GFIC’s.

    Have sparkle change the GFCI somewhere too sensitive.


    Sparkle? Is that a gender binary term for a sparky?
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Your dream is your dream. It's nobody else's dream. You're going to have to do it for yourself"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    At The Point Of No Return
    Posts
    16,569
    Post Likes
    How high of a resistance can your meter read?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    23
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Fluke 116. 6.00 M ohms

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,230
    Post Likes
    Well, codes require that all of the kitchen outlets be on GFCI protection. If this unit has its own circuit, you might try placing a GFCI breaker in their panel and then installing a conventional outlet for the ice maker to plug into, and then you can label it as "GFCI protected."

    You could also try replacing the GFCI outlet itself with a different brand. Some are more accurate and less sensitive to false actuation.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Ardmore, PA
    Posts
    87
    Post Likes
    I thought that if it was a dedicated single outlet (not duplex) it could be non-GFCI. I'm old and senile but I remember running into this issue with basement sump pumps. They don't like GFCIs either.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    At The Point Of No Return
    Posts
    16,569
    Post Likes
    Shouldn't do anything if you open the curtain in freeze on newer machines. Will it trip if you.... Nevermind

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    7,154
    Post Likes
    I seen a guy , a few times or so , replace crapFI's with a regular rec and not charge the customer ....

    Changed what ? Hell I dunno what your talkin about ....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,230
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jmlandru View Post
    I thought that if it was a dedicated single outlet (not duplex) it could be non-GFCI. I'm old and senile but I remember running into this issue with basement sump pumps. They don't like GFCIs either.
    At one time, that was true.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,350
    Post Likes
    So if the problem is new and the machine has worked in the past whats changed ?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    23
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    That's what I'm trying to figure out. It's beyond me that opening a switch will trip it out, and I didn't believe it myself til I tried it 12 times on three different circuits. Amp draw on N was .2A lower than on L1, but it won't trip unless that curtain switch opens.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    At The Point Of No Return
    Posts
    16,569
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    Well, codes require that all of the kitchen outlets be on GFCI protection. If this unit has its own circuit, you might try placing a GFCI breaker in their panel and then installing a conventional outlet for the ice maker to plug into, and then you can label it as "GFCI protected."

    You could also try replacing the GFCI outlet itself with a different brand. Some are more accurate and less sensitive to false actuation.
    Did it used to be a certain distance from a sink? I never heard all of them had to be. How about if it was hard piped no outlet?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    The triangle in the Keystone
    Posts
    1,284
    Post Likes
    Disconnect the curtain switch from the board and put a jumper in there and manually open the circuit when the curtain physically opens. If the GFCI doesn’t trip then the cause is the switch or wiring.

    Even if that fixes it your going to have issues in the future if that machine is plugged into a GFCI. Not sure what the local code is but if you hard wire it does that negate The need for GFCI protection?

    Also Pass and Seymour once made a GFCI with a high milliamp rating and it was very forgiving. You could look into that too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,230
    Post Likes
    The distance from a sink was the first iteration of the GFCI requirements..... now they're required in basements, kitchens, and several other places..... everything outside, etc etc etc.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    9,725
    Post Likes
    A disconnect will fix the gfci issue
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Your dream is your dream. It's nobody else's dream. You're going to have to do it for yourself"

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Medford, N.Y.
    Posts
    7,029
    Post Likes
    Manitowoc recommends a GFCI breaker and not that nuisance causing GFCI outlet.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    23
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    The story ends happily. I replaced the switch. I wasn't sure what other direction to go with it. We have a used model in the shop I grabbed a switch from. I haven't yet put the problem switch in the one in the shop, but when I do, I'll post the results. Local code does require GFCI, and any sort of rewiring would have been expensive. This was in a drive thru window and everything was tiled. I'm glad it works...but sometimes I want to know WHY. I guess I just like learning and being able to explain things to my customers.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    sharjah, UAE
    Posts
    11
    Post Likes
    well, i recommend you to go and watch video on youtube. I'm sure you will sort out your problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •