Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes

    Cleveland tech support

    Does anyone have a good tech support number for Cleveland where they pick up the phone or return your call? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    The triangle in the Keystone
    Posts
    1,173
    Post Likes
    Lol that’s a hard NO. Even with my fancy “KitchenCare Tech ID” number I still wait forever for one them to pick up.

    I had some factory Convotherm training in Cleveland recently (which was weird because that’s not the factory anymore) and we beat them up pretty bad about there phone situation. They just shrugged their shoulders. Micheal is the best so hopefully after you wait for 9 hours and they finally pick up you get him.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for confirming my suspicions. I was trying to correctly troubleshoot their 24 vdc actuator. No movement of the motor with voltage but I was reading 33 volts so I’m not sure if that’s acceptable within the design or if I need to look into the bridge rectifier and resister. Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Waterloo N.Y.
    Posts
    2,298
    Post Likes
    I like when you call for tech support and they call the next day. "Are you at the unit?" " No. I'm 30 miles away from it on another job! "

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,508
    Post Likes
    If i had a company that treated me like that i would end any contracts with them for service and not service them
    its not acceptable

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    1,287
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mcr View Post
    I like when you call for tech support and they call the next day. "Are you at the unit?" " No. I'm 30 miles away from it on another job! "
    Or when you get a hold of a real person,and give them all the info,voltage measurements and,more because you know you only have one shot at this. Then they reply that’s odd it’s shouldn’t be doing that no why do you think I’m calling you. Then the brief pause followed by Ill call you back
    Honeywell you can buy better but you cant pay more

    I told my wife when i die to sell my fishing stuff for what its worth not what i told her i paid for it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    1,103
    Post Likes
    What part of Cleveland?

    Convotherm?

    I know some people, and I have some cell numbers and direct emails but depends what equipment your talking about.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Hey olivero, I was working on a tilting skillet sgl 40-tr and there are some steamers, any leads would be much appreciated. Thank you. Kitchen was in a hurry to have this fixed. I soldered in a new resister which was 2 ohms instead of 1/2. I used a 10000 uf cap tester which showed a failed cap, which I replaced but the new cap showed the same reading, so tester is no good. I replaced the dc motor and figured I'd change the $25 switch with the $1500 in other parts. I left the bridge which seemed to be converting ac to dc fine. I still had 33 volts to the motor which I still don't know if that's a problem or why that's what I was getting but it's working. So, its done now, not sure what I could have done differently. Thanks for the comments everyone

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    1,103
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by uffdanow00 View Post
    Hey olivero, I was working on a tilting skillet sgl 40-tr and there are some steamers, any leads would be much appreciated. Thank you. Kitchen was in a hurry to have this fixed. I soldered in a new resister which was 2 ohms instead of 1/2. I used a 10000 uf cap tester which showed a failed cap, which I replaced but the new cap showed the same reading, so tester is no good. I replaced the dc motor and figured I'd change the $25 switch with the $1500 in other parts. I left the bridge which seemed to be converting ac to dc fine. I still had 33 volts to the motor which I still don't know if that's a problem or why that's what I was getting but it's working. So, its done now, not sure what I could have done differently. Thanks for the comments everyone
    Okay, well if you still need emails or numbers ,just PM me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •