Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Likes

Start BAS/Control job now or finish HVAC apprenticeship first?

Hi guys,

I am currently 6 months into a HVAC apprenticeship in the service division side of a commercial HVAC/Mechanical Services company here in Australia.

I am a licensed Electrician and have been working in the industrial side of the electrical industry for about 8 years prior to starting a HVAC apprenticeship and i am hoping to complete and get signed off in this trade as a refrigeration mechanic in the next 2-3 years.

My reason for starting a refrigeration mechanic apprenticeship in the commercial HVAC industry was to become dual traded and eventually work in the building automation systems/controls side, as from an outsiders perspective, i thought that having knowledge and experience of both electrical and especially HVAC would be an integral part, if not a requirement, as a controls/bms technician.
    I am also currently completing an electrical engineering associates degree part time along with some self taught online networking/TCP/IP short courses which should hopefully be of good benefit.

My end game was to apply for some bas/controls companies after i had completed my apprenticeship and was qualified as a HVAC technician which i had prepared to be around 2-4 years.

However, I had just recently been given an opportunity to work for a bas/controls company as a service tech. While i have learned a lot about the HVAC trade and commercial hvac plant/equipment during my short time as an apprentice, i feel that i do not yet possess the experience/knowledge i need to be successful as a bms tech and now i have a dilemma in choosing whether to first complete my HVAC trade or to jump ship a lot earlier than expected to work in my dream job?

From those who are working or have worked as a controls/bas tech, what would you do in this situation or any advice you can share?

Thanks

Post Likes