Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Converting trane condensing unit fromm R22 to R407C

I am looking to change refrigerants on a Trane Condensing unit: CAUJC6042B1300

Trane compressors are Model # CSHA150K0E00
    Part # 570010151109
    COM06438

We are replacing the micro channel condensers and the customer wants to get rid of R22

Is there any issues anyone knows if we put R407C?

I am assuming we will need to change the oil also.

TIA
    Just when I thought I knew it all, I realize that I am still learning something new everyday!

Post Likes
    Forgot to ask, Does trane use a special Trane oil for R407C?
    Just when I thought I knew it all, I realize that I am still learning something new everyday!

Post Likes
    Pretty sure that compressor is what is known as a 3D Scroll. You'll find that printed near the middle of the paper label on the compressor.

The absolute best thing to do with those units is to use R-22 over mineral oil. The reason is there is no oil pump in them. And they have a robust history of failures after converting. 407C over POE is the only thing Trane recommends, but the recommendation comes with hesitations; think they say something like "If you cannot acquire R-22."

Why does the customer want to convert? Some sort of Greenie Thingy?

Be sure to get it in writing that you will not guarantee or warranty anything, expressed or implied. And be sure you have verification the customer acknowledges receipt of your disclaimers.
    If you were a real tech, you'd solder a relay on that board and call it good to go.

I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

I use 56% silver on everything except steel.

Post Likes
    what He said.....be very careful.....contact trane, get written literature that does or does not support the conversion, and CYA.

Post Likes
    Not to mention some loss in capacity.
    If you were a real tech, you'd solder a relay on that board and call it good to go.

Post Likes