Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,175
    Post Likes

    Needle probes for iDVM 510 and 550?

    Jim B. or Bill S.

    What needle probes are available that work with the Redfish/Supco Multi-meters?

    Are there screw on tips, or complete lead sets?
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    196
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by David Goodman View Post
    Jim B. or Bill S.

    What needle probes are available that work with the Redfish/Supco Multi-meters?

    Are there screw on tips, or complete lead sets?


    See pic of what you get included.
    Are you looking for finer needle probes?



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Bill Spohn
    President & CEO
    www.TruTechTools.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,175
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes, I am looking for something even thinner than the tips that come with the 510 and the 550.

    Fluke 8845A-EFPT is an example.

    LG Multi V5 equipment has numerous plug connections on circuit boards with very small access openings for taking measurements. Standard probe tips are too thick to take measurements without distorting the plugs.

    I greatly appreciated that the 550 and 510 came with alligator clips, and that the 550 came with a line splitter.

    Another side note. The SupcoTechlink app for my iPad pulled up the manual for the meters in the “Helpful Resources” links, but on my Android phone it wouldn’t pull up the 550 manual.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    15,735
    Post Likes
    Yeap, needle probes are a must have on ton of equipment on the market now.

    Quote Originally Posted by David Goodman View Post
    The SupcoTechlink app for my iPad pulled up the manual for the meters in the “Helpful Resources” links, but on my Android phone it wouldn’t pull up the 550 manual.
    Same issue for me on my Galaxy Note 5, just a white screen when I click the link for the 550in the Techlink app.
    It works fine in the MeasureQuick app though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    288
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by David Goodman View Post
    Jim B. or Bill S.

    What needle probes are available that work with the Redfish/Supco Multi-meters?

    Are there screw on tips, or complete lead sets?
    Like Fluke 8845A-EFPT Fieldpiece RCT2

    Just wanted to follow and bump back up top

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,175
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by greg58 View Post
    Like Fluke 8845A-EFPT Fieldpiece RCT2

    Just wanted to follow and bump back up top
    The RTC2 tips appear to be uninsulated. Many of the test points are very close to each other. I can see inadvertently shorting the probes together.

    I would like only 4mm of the probe tip exposed.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    288
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by David Goodman View Post
    The RTC2 tips appear to be uninsulated. Many of the test points are very close to each other. I can see inadvertently shorting the probes together.

    I would like only 4mm of the probe tip exposed.
    Mine have a heavy coating with only 1/4 exposed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,175
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by greg58 View Post
    Mine have a heavy coating with only 1/4” exposed
    My Fieldpiece leads do seem to fit in the 510 and 550 even though they have a slightly different design.

    TruTech Tools does carry the RTC2 tips.

    I was hoping for confirmation that those leads and tips were compatible.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,175
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Double post deleted.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    288
    Post Likes
    Sounds like we’re both looking for the same thing. Confirmation

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago area, Il.
    Posts
    670
    Post Likes
    I would look at Fluke leads, and think modular. Years ago, I bought a Fluke TK225 and L215 probe sets, that came with modular leads (banana connections on both ends) and a bunch of different probes, including needle probes that plug into the end of the leads. I dont know if these numbers are still good but they have taken care of al my testing needs for a long time.
    One other reason for the Fluke leads, they are longer than everyone elses.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    288
    Post Likes
    Fluke and Fldpc both work in 510. They are very slightly larger and was concerned over tme that the 510 probes would become too loose to work. No real big deal to me, I thought if they had needle probes I would get them.

    Fluke did seem to fit better than fldpc.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,175
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by greg58 View Post
    Fluke and Fldpc both work in 510. They are very slightly larger and was concerned over tme that the 510 probes would become too loose to work. No real big deal to me, I thought if they had needle probes I would get them.

    Fluke did seem to fit better than fldpc.
    Good to know.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •