Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    207
    Post Likes

    Testo digital manifolds

    Question..

    I had a Testo 550 set with the wired clamps. The wires are as thin as hair and the plugs stuck out the side of the manifold like sore thumbs.

    After going through 3 clamps because wire strain failure at the plugs... I eventually sold the set. and I hardly used this manifold. I only used it on the top end equipment... I didn't want to use it as a "daily driver". So disappointing...although the rest of the manifold was GREAT!

    I spoke to a Testo rep at Gemaire and I asked her... Why aren't there wireless clamps for this manifold?...I mean after all Testo does make the wireless pressure probes and wireless clamps via bluetooth in a kit. Couldn't one simply pair the wireless clamps to the manifold?...I mean I would gladly buy the kit if I had to.
    She said no....but they are working on it....This was over a year ago...lol

    The manifold has bluetooth capability. So it seems to me a simple firmware update in the manifold which has a connection port to do so on it...would suffice?

    I guess they just like selling clamps at $60+ a pop

    Fieldpiece SM480V which just came out in February will have this wireless temp clamp feature.... I wonder if Testo will follow through?

    If they do I would definitely go back to Testo...For now I am eyeing the Fieldpiece.....Sure does look nice !

    Thoughts???
    It's all about heat transfer...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    4,426
    Post Likes
    This is why I went back to analogs. When you have a fancy manifold gauge with temperature sensors and micrometers, you’re at the will of the manufacturer to provide replacement parts, if they still make them at all. For the same price I paid for my Testo, I bought two Yellow Jackets with high-accuracy gauges and low loss hoses (one for R22, one for R410A), still had money left over to make a couple stubbies. I use my Cooper Atkins blue box for temperature readings.

    Have my diagnostics been any less accurate or inefficient? No. If anything, it’s better not having a tangled-up arrangment of hoses and temperature clamps and always needing batteries to do your job. All you need to know is pressure, the sat temperature can be found on any PT chart. If I drop my manifold an a gauge breaks, just go to the supply house and pick up a new gauge for $20. Just my two cents.

  3. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    77,029
    Post Likes
    I use my Testo 550s on all systems. Crappy ones and newer systems.

    Haven't had a wire failure on them yet. Although I did accidentally mess up the connector on one.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post
  6. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    99
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by CircusEnvy View Post
    This is why I went back to analogs. When you have a fancy manifold gauge with temperature sensors and micrometers, you’re at the will of the manufacturer to provide replacement parts, if they still make them at all. For the same price I paid for my Testo, I bought two Yellow Jackets with high-accuracy gauges and low loss hoses (one for R22, one for R410A), still had money left over to make a couple stubbies. I use my Cooper Atkins blue box for temperature readings.

    Have my diagnostics been any less accurate or inefficient? No. If anything, it’s better not having a tangled-up arrangment of hoses and temperature clamps and always needing batteries to do your job. All you need to know is pressure, the sat temperature can be found on any PT chart. If I drop my manifold an a gauge breaks, just go to the supply house and pick up a new gauge for $20. Just my two cents.
    Tell it, Brother!

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    7,098
    Post Likes
    Sporlan's are completely wireless.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    6,178
    Post Likes
    Try the yellow jacket digi gauges, there about best gauge that man has ever made IMO.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    maroon lazyboy
    Posts
    2,165
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    Try the yellow jacket digi gauges, there about best gauge that man has ever made IMO.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The color screen ones?

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    6,178
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by knave View Post
    The color screen ones?
    I got the old calculator screen on mine, they are just about the same beast. I have to scroll through to see sh/sc, saturation or line temps. Or just get on the app and I can see it all at the same time.

    It would really just depends on the work you do.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.