Post Likes

Connect to Barber Colman

Hi there,

I am new to the HVAC world and especially Barber Colman. I am trying to figure out how to connect to the GCM 86120 and the MicrozoneII controllers. I have read that I need an RJ-12 cable. I have a new laptop running windows 10. What do I need to be able to communicate with these controllers and read the programs that they have on them? I have no documentation on this system at all so I am flying blind for the most part.

End goal is to replace the MZII controllers with AB PLC's. Any one ever done this before?

Also, any manuals or reference documents relating to GCM's or MZII controllers would be incredibly helpful.

Thanks.

Post Likes
    In order to connect to a GCM and the Microzone controllers you will need a copy of XPSI. Are you trying ti integrate to the BC stuff first and then upgrade or are you just ripping it out? I have integrated to the BC field controllers many times by ripping out the GCM and putting in a Tridium Jace. It might be wise to make some contacts with a local company who is well versed in controls.

Post Likes
    You may want to contact the local Schneider Electric rep for some help. If the microzone 2 controllers are controlling anything critical you should do your homework. If the microzone 2 controllers are the only thing connected to the GCM and you remove them it is likely you won't need the GCM either. Can you describe the entire system and what type of facility or equipment is being controlled?

Post Likes
    Honestly I am in the process of trying to figure out what my best option is so I am open to hearing about what has worked well in the past for you. The end goal is to rip out all things BC but for now they want to get just the AHU's onto Rockwell PLC's. So integrate to start and overhaul at the shutdown later. It is a pharmaceutical manufacturing facility with need to hold tight tolerances on temp, humidity, and pressure in their clean rooms.