Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    717
    Post Likes

    NCE riddle for you JCI techs

    Another company wanted me to change the device id of a NCE (5.2). No problem. Change it in SCT and download. Download goes through but the device shows offline. Tried everything to get back into this device to no avail.No biggie, I know people and I have a friend refresh this thing to 9.0. Plug it back into the system, site discover and no problems. Change 5.2 to current 9.0. Download. Download is good until device reset and again device is offline. WTF? Shell into it and the IP has changed to 0.0.0.0. Cannot get to change on their network. Bring home and plug into my network and we again have a working IP and I can get into it again. Plug it into their network and the circle jerk continues... back to 0.0.0.0

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    717
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    DHCP is disabled in the NCE and it has a static IP. When the bonkers start, DHCP changes on its own
    to true and IP goes 0.0.0.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    717
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I will add to the bonkers.... I will do a discover on a jace on the same network and the NCE will show up twice. Im lost...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    22
    Post Likes
    IP Address conflict on network?

    Sent from my Lenovo A7020a48 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    459
    Post Likes
    Is it possible that there is a PXE server on the network?
    That will cause strange startup issues like that. Try unplugging the net cable when it boots up, then plugging it after the run light is solid.
    If there is a pxe server on the net, the it guy will just need to create an exception for that MAC address.
    You should put 9.0.3 in it instead of 9.0.
    There were a couple issues with the small engines at 9.0 and 9.01

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    459
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by vensev View Post
    IP Address conflict on network?

    Sent from my Lenovo A7020a48 using Tapatalk
    That could be

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    459
    Post Likes
    A flaky Ethernet cable or a flakey port on the switch can cause the 0.0.0.0 thing too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,031
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by JCIman View Post
    Is it possible that there is a PXE server on the network?
    That will cause strange startup issues like that.
    I never wuda thought of that! The NAE sees a PXE server and so is starting the PXE only NUT process, but the existing PXE server is not down and the NAE hangs?

    VERY interesting....
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    459
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by numbawunfela View Post
    I never wuda thought of that! The NAE sees a PXE server and so is starting the PXE only NUT process, but the existing PXE server is not down and the NAE hangs?

    VERY interesting....
    Yes, I have seen this many times over the years. Usually at schools.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.