Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    726
    Post Likes

    NCE riddle for you JCI techs

    Another company wanted me to change the device id of a NCE (5.2). No problem. Change it in SCT and download. Download goes through but the device shows offline. Tried everything to get back into this device to no avail.No biggie, I know people and I have a friend refresh this thing to 9.0. Plug it back into the system, site discover and no problems. Change 5.2 to current 9.0. Download. Download is good until device reset and again device is offline. WTF? Shell into it and the IP has changed to 0.0.0.0. Cannot get to change on their network. Bring home and plug into my network and we again have a working IP and I can get into it again. Plug it into their network and the circle jerk continues... back to 0.0.0.0

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    726
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    DHCP is disabled in the NCE and it has a static IP. When the bonkers start, DHCP changes on its own
    to true and IP goes 0.0.0.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    726
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I will add to the bonkers.... I will do a discover on a jace on the same network and the NCE will show up twice. Im lost...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    22
    Post Likes
    IP Address conflict on network?

    Sent from my Lenovo A7020a48 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    489
    Post Likes
    Is it possible that there is a PXE server on the network?
    That will cause strange startup issues like that. Try unplugging the net cable when it boots up, then plugging it after the run light is solid.
    If there is a pxe server on the net, the it guy will just need to create an exception for that MAC address.
    You should put 9.0.3 in it instead of 9.0.
    There were a couple issues with the small engines at 9.0 and 9.01

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    489
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by vensev View Post
    IP Address conflict on network?

    Sent from my Lenovo A7020a48 using Tapatalk
    That could be

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    489
    Post Likes
    A flaky Ethernet cable or a flakey port on the switch can cause the 0.0.0.0 thing too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,121
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by JCIman View Post
    Is it possible that there is a PXE server on the network?
    That will cause strange startup issues like that.
    I never wuda thought of that! The NAE sees a PXE server and so is starting the PXE only NUT process, but the existing PXE server is not down and the NAE hangs?

    VERY interesting....
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    489
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by numbawunfela View Post
    I never wuda thought of that! The NAE sees a PXE server and so is starting the PXE only NUT process, but the existing PXE server is not down and the NAE hangs?

    VERY interesting....
    Yes, I have seen this many times over the years. Usually at schools.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    726
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by JCIman View Post
    Is it possible that there is a PXE server on the network?
    That will cause strange startup issues like that. Try unplugging the net cable when it boots up, then plugging it after the run light is solid.
    If there is a pxe server on the net, the it guy will just need to create an exception for that MAC address.
    You should put 9.0.3 in it instead of 9.0.
    There were a couple issues with the small engines at 9.0 and 9.01

    Finally caught it doing this by shelling into it. Exactly as you stated. Rebooted with network cable out until run light was green. Plugged cable in and life was good.
    Thank You

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    726
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Had to do the same to a small NAE and the download goes through ok yet again its offline as well. I can ping this sucker and upload or download with SCT with no problems as long as i go through the controller and not the site director. If I use site director I get comm errors. Device is offline as well. Pretty sure they have a PXE. Shut this sucker down for a while and try it again. Thanks JCIman.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    489
    Post Likes
    The IT guy should be able the add your MAC addresses to the PXE servers’s exception list without too much trouble.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    1,121
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by JCIman View Post
    The IT guy should be able the add your MAC addresses to the PXE servers’s exception list without too much trouble.
    That would be good, as the next time your NCE sees a power blip the issue will resurface.
    When that PXE only NUT process starts, the NAE/NCE quietly puts his head down, hands against the wall and assumes the position to get NUTted. This will resurface without JCIMans reccomendation.

    Of course it is your site and you can do what you like...
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •