Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    Post Likes

Confused Zoning - buffering like sound

Long time reader first time posting. I'm a general contractor, we as a company have been exploring residential automation and zoning lately. I have a project that I'm having a small problem with and will like to get advise from people that been doing this longer than me. We have installed completely new duct runs for supply and return at this location. Supplays are zoned with IO controls and work great for most part. Great airflow and good static pressure over the entire system. I'm running in one problem. I get "buffering" like noise. Noise is similar to driving your car with only one window crack open. Noise is only present in customer living room right above the furnace room, located in the basement. Noise can be heard with one zone on or with all 3 zones calling. Ductwork is sized correctly and only questionable design problem that we were running in to was a plenum. we had to flare it out to the take off above. I had done similar plenums before and never had problems. This customer is very particular about sound control so this is a problem for him. Has anyone here experience this problem before?

Post Likes
    Duct work on zoned systems are a completely different engineering headache.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    Duct work on zoned systems are a completely different engineering headache.
    Tell me about it pecmsg.

Post Likes
    Do you still get the noise when the whole system is calling 100%. Also check that the zone dampers are installed with the correct air flow going through them and static pressure setting for bypass damper.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by servicefitter View Post
    Do you still get the noise when the whole system is calling 100%. Also check that the zone dampers are installed with the correct air flow going through them and static pressure setting for bypass damper.
    Yes, even when the whole system