Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 29
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    27,233
    Post Likes
    Was there construction going on for those 2 years?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,281
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by JCBirney View Post
    Was installed in 2013 and he moved in early 2015. Have no idea who installed it. It looks like a professional job not something done by a home owner. All the sheetmetal piping and wiring is neatly done but they didn't size it right. I'm going over there this morning and get a better look at the duct work.
    Hos 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I will also reject you, that you may be no priest to me. Because you have forgotten your God’s law, I will also forget your children.


    "You've got to Stand for Something or You'll fall for anything" (A. Tippin)


    Mat_15:24 But he answered, “I wasn’t sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    3,048
    Post Likes
    The temperature rise on that furnace should be between 62 degrees to 72 degrees regardless of what the manufacturer states. The blower cfm should be 1300 cfm. If you go by the manufactures specs the furnace would need a blower that is 2500 cfm.


    Yes, you are on the high side. Maybe high speed is needed. If it is a 3T or 3.5T blower it should probably be on High. That is not to say your duct system is undersized. Whatever speed produces the lowest flue temperature is the best speed regardless of Delta T.
    captain CO

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    78,520
    Post Likes
    Check your actual static pressure. Need to move 1235 CFM to be at manufacturers higher listed temp rise.

    It has a four ton blower, so something is blocking a supply or return, or something is dirty. Or, it never really worked right.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    On the water but near the hood
    Posts
    1,812
    Post Likes
    An out of spec blower motor cap will impact the rise and limit. Check it out.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Homosassa FL
    Posts
    44
    Post Likes
    Static pressure...... instead of guessing.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mn the state where absolutey nothing is allowed
    Posts
    2,426
    Post Likes
    TESP and delta P readings are simple 4th grade math so..

    please post 4 single pressure readings

    before the filter
    blower compartment
    under EVAP
    above EVAP.

    taking readings in this fashion really help identify where the issue lies
    my boss thinks its possible to repeal the laws of physics

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    212
    Post Likes
    did your brother have a cat that disappeared last year sometime?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Kansas Flatlands
    Posts
    438
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by kdean1 View Post
    What kind of filter? I hate 3M Filtrete.
    I agree that more return can only help.
    Yup, that's what it sounds like. You never said you tried a new, or different filter. You said it looked clean. How about a tabletop humidifer and white water deposits in the white filter material.Those filters look clean but are plugged up in a mater of days sometimes. Whatever, My money's on airflow on return side, measure static pressure.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    530
    Post Likes
    In the right installation,been able to add another filter rack,duct to a convenient location.Done.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    43
    Post Likes
    I am curious, if problem was ever found?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Malden Mass
    Posts
    376
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Check your actual static pressure. Need to move 1235 CFM to be at manufacturers higher listed temp rise.

    It has a four ton blower, so something is blocking a supply or return, or something is dirty. Or, it never really worked right.
    I was wandering when someone was going to jump in and ask for the static pressure readings. I had a similar issue 5 years ago on an oversized furnace.
    I believe the original installer found a deal on a furnace, even though it was oversized by 20k btus or more.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Chico, Ca #StateofJefferson
    Posts
    1,870
    Post Likes
    Haven’t seen any posting about what the gas manifold pressure was. I use to have a sales guy that would sell HE furnaces with just barely enough return to operate. It would run right at the temp rise limit and even with yearly maintenance after 4-6 years of use it would get just enough dirt in it to pop the limit. Everything would look pretty clean inside, it just had no cushion. He didn’t care, he got the sale, after that it was on me to tell the customer they needed more return

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR