Post Likes

Distech EC Net 3.8 Upgrade-Known Glitches or Issues to Check-Newbie

Hi all,
    I am fairly new in the industry and being trained on various software etc; trying to get ahead of issue and thought to come to this forum. You guys are amazing.

I would like to know any feed back on the Distech EC Net 3.8 when upgrading to this software to an existing system, runs on Niagara AX. 1) Is there any do's or don'ts that you are aware before or after install?

2) Also where would be the best way to check the system for errors after install for the best diagnostics.

Thank you very much
    Bob Simon

Post Likes
    Are you saying that you having an existing Niagara install running a version older than 3.8? If so, the answer depends on if the existing system is utilizing Distech controllers or another brand. If it is Distech, you should be good to go without too much trouble. If the site has another brand of controls, you will need to ensure you have the appropriate jar files for that manufacture. Copy the station from the JACE to your PC and run it locally on your PC. If it starts up on your machine, you should have the appropriate jar files. If this is a location your organization inherited from another contractor, I would also recommend documenting any devices that are offline before doing an upgrade.

Post Likes
    Hi JSLLCRLife,
    Yes thank you that is great information., we have a Niagara AX platform and older version of EC Net, and are upgrading to the EC Net 3.8.

Is there a particular application within the new version of EC Net 3.8 where we could do a fully system-to ensure the system has no errors from the upgrade.?

Post Likes
    There is no easy button to check. Each system is unique. You can check the application director but I have seen errors on normally operating systems. As mentioned above make sure if you have any non Distech controllers then make sure you have the equivalent 3.8 jar files for them.

Post Likes