Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25

Thread: Wire size.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    2,130
    Post Likes

    Wire size.

    There is a need to run copper wires for electric heater. The heater will be three phase, 208 V 37 A.
    Can #8 gauge be used or the distance of 150 feet to the breaker panel would require #6 gauge?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,281
    Post Likes
    My immediate response is to go #6, but, ...... That is without doing any Calculations sigma.
    Hos 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I will also reject you, that you may be no priest to me. Because you have forgotten your God’s law, I will also forget your children.


    "You've got to Stand for Something or You'll fall for anything" (A. Tippin)


    Mat_15:24 But he answered, “I wasn’t sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    huntington beach calif
    Posts
    7
    Post Likes

    wire size

    Quote Originally Posted by sigma View Post
    There is a need to run copper wires for electric heater. The heater will be three phase, 208 V 37 A.
    Can #8 gauge be used or the distance of 150 feet to the breaker panel would require #6 gauge?
    1.73 x 208 = 359.84

    359 x 37 = 13,283 watts

    # 6 for sure

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    9
    Post Likes
    Thanks for the help buddy. Even I was looking for help.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    2,178
    Post Likes
    Wire type (Temp. Rating) and ambient temperature are important as well as the length.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,281
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by David Goodman View Post
    Wire type (Temp. Rating) and ambient temperature are important as well as the length.
    Indeed David.
    Hos 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I will also reject you, that you may be no priest to me. Because you have forgotten your God’s law, I will also forget your children.


    "You've got to Stand for Something or You'll fall for anything" (A. Tippin)


    Mat_15:24 But he answered, “I wasn’t sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    LEHIGH VALLEY, PA
    Posts
    680
    Post Likes
    1.73 .. ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    760
    Post Likes
    you have about 130W loss on 37A with 150ft #8 wire (if 3 phase then per phase), imo far too much

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northern NV
    Posts
    1,884
    Post Likes
    Its own conduit or in an already populated conduit? Gotta consider fill too.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,359
    Post Likes
    .
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    24,545
    Post Likes
    Here, I got a good one for you . . .

    A buddy, also in our trade, increased his 100 A single phase service to his house up to a 200 A service.

    The utility company installed 8 gauge wire. He called and complained to the code enforcement officials. After it was all said and done, yes, you can run 200 amps on 8 gauge wire that is in open air. At least according to that utility company. Code enforcement officer was satisfied with the utilities companies 'report'.

    My friend wanted to be able to use an electric welder without dimming the lights. His wife hated that. There was probably still some dimming, but the wifey was happy, and last I heard, no problem with the small gauge of wire.


    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Madera View Post
    Its own conduit or in an already populated conduit? Gotta consider fill too.
    If you were a real tech, you'd solder a relay on that board and call it good to go.

    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

    I use 56% silver on everything except steel.

    Did you really need the " If you were a real tech " ??

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    760
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Here, I got a good one for you . . .

    A buddy, also in our trade, increased his 100 A single phase service to his house up to a 200 A service.

    The utility company installed 8 gauge wire.
    in that case the utility company pays for the losses on the line... as it is before the meter (well at some point they will push these costs onto all customers as increased kwh price), however in the second case the home owner pays for the losses on the cables that are after the meter - so yes size matters

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,281
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Here, I got a good one for you . . .

    A buddy, also in our trade, increased his 100 A single phase service to his house up to a 200 A service.

    The utility company installed 8 gauge wire. He called and complained to the code enforcement officials. After it was all said and done, yes, you can run 200 amps on 8 gauge wire that is in open air. At least according to that utility company. Code enforcement officer was satisfied with the utilities companies 'report'.

    My friend wanted to be able to use an electric welder without dimming the lights. His wife hated that. There was probably still some dimming, but the wifey was happy, and last I heard, no problem with the small gauge of wire.




    I installed a 200A Underground service for a Modular, & South Central Power was the Utility (No Inspections required other than their Own.), .... They provided the URD for the Service, & started throwing #2 in the trench, & I asked the foreman, "What th' Hale R U Doing?". This Yahoo told me that "it'll be fine,... No Big Deal.", & I told him that I had an Inspector coming from Clermont County,& that I wanted 4/0 URD in the trench.

    This guy began complaining about having to drive all the way back to Hillsboro & getting the wire, so, ... I called the Inspector, & he got on the phone with this Yahoo, & told him, that he wasn't allowed to use #2 URD on a 200A install.

    Needless to say, the Yahoo *****ed about it, but he went & got the 4/0 Al, ... And the Inspection passed.

    How your buddy got by with #8 Tri-plex baffles me BBeerme.
    Hos 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I will also reject you, that you may be no priest to me. Because you have forgotten your God’s law, I will also forget your children.


    "You've got to Stand for Something or You'll fall for anything" (A. Tippin)


    Mat_15:24 But he answered, “I wasn’t sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •