Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    central PA
    Posts
    2
    Post Likes

    i-Vu Controller has no power

    Hi all. Newbie here...1st post. I'm in Facilities Management for about 15 years (I am a senior technician). The guy that took care of all our i-Vu issues retired a few months ago. Unfortunately, no one saw fit to get anyone else trained or up to speed. So I am learning as I go.

    I have several RTU's and also UH's that are controlled through i-Vu. All had been working just fine. Now I have 6 units that are not communicating with i-Vu. The units run fine. It's the controllers that have no power. I've traced back all the wiring, and everything looks fine. This is NOT a bubble with a ? that shows on i-Vu when they are not communicating.....What I see on i-Vu is nothing and when I open up the controller, there is no power.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,442
    Post Likes
    You've measured with a meter and the module has no power? Generally they get 24vAC from the unit they are serving but sometimes have their own transformer with associated fuse and breaker.
    Scott Jalbert
    WebCTRL ninja
    AX and Smartstruxure newb

    The S in IoT stands for Security

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    central PA
    Posts
    2
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Correct. They are 24vAC (UC Open BACnet Controller), and yes I used a meter, and have no power. I don't see anything that looks like a transformer (not to me anyway, but as I said I'm learning as I go).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    422
    Post Likes
    If there's no power, you'll have to follow the wires back to figure out where the transformer is located. Like Max said sometimes we'll pickup power from the internal transformer on the equipment. If the wires don't go back to the equipment, you'll have to find the other one. Could be coming from an electrical closet, a transformer mounted on a J-box, or any other conveniently close place.
    Either the transformer is blown or a fuse or breaker is popped, either on the line side or the 24vac side.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    20
    Post Likes
    If you have power at the controller the PICO fuse can be blown as well...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    VA/DC
    Posts
    71
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mlb0484 View Post
    Hi all. Newbie here...1st post. I'm in Facilities Management for about 15 years (I am a senior technician). The guy that took care of all our i-Vu issues retired a few months ago. Unfortunately, no one saw fit to get anyone else trained or up to speed. So I am learning as I go.

    I have several RTU's and also UH's that are controlled through i-Vu. All had been working just fine. Now I have 6 units that are not communicating with i-Vu. The units run fine. It's the controllers that have no power. I've traced back all the wiring, and everything looks fine. This is NOT a bubble with a ? that shows on i-Vu when they are not communicating.....What I see on i-Vu is nothing and when I open up the controller, there is no power.

    Any suggestions?
    If you measure for voltage at the black 2 screw power plug and you do not have 24v, then its not the controller. as stated trace the power wires and see why the control is not being fed 24v. This is what is sounds like by one of your other responses.

    If you do have power at the black 2 screw connector and the control has no lights on it. Then the control is bad. Now if you're good with soldering and circuit boards you can check the pico fuse that's right behind the power plug. But only the MPC and PSM have an actual replaceable fuse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.