+ Reply to Thread

Thread: What is the best equipment for an apprentice to practice on?

Post Likes

What is the best equipment for an apprentice to practice on?

I am still an apprentice is it best that I practice on small refrigerators when I’m on my own time? I am looking for a cost effective way of practicing without messing up expensive equipment. I am looking to pump down, change compressors, recovery and recharge on something that’ll give me enough experience that can be used in the field. Thanks.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Rusty Capacitor View Post
    I am still an apprentice is it best that I practice on small refrigerators when I’m on my own time? I am looking for a cost effective way of practicing without messing up expensive equipment. I am looking to pump down, change compressors, recovery and recharge on something that’ll give me enough experience that can be used in the field. Thanks.
    That's a great idea ! Are you only looking to do refrigeration or heating and cooling as well ?

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    That's a great idea ! Are you only looking to do refrigeration or heating and cooling as well ?
    I want to do all. Or at least cooling and refrigeration

Post Likes
    Lots of internet auctions on line. I see restaurant equipment go cheap if it's listed not working. Maybe look into something like that.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    Lots of internet auctions on line. I see restaurant equipment go cheap if it's listed not working. Maybe look into something like that.
    Could I just work on an old mini fridge?

Post Likes
    Your own AC is best while at home. For the fastest experience while at work, request the jobs that everyone else hates. Those customers that really don’t maintain anything but want it fixed immediately. Rental space customers are great since you will see amazing ways equipment gets broken.
    "Right" is not the same as "Wise".