Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    303
    Post Likes

    Confused FLUKE 902 AND SHORT COMPRESSOR

    Long story short
    i have a Fluke FC 902 a very nice, and expensive, clamp meter.
    Today i was homing a shorted compressor for the first time with this meter, and was showing OL.
    So i checked with my cheap Fieldpiece SC 53 and was showing a short to the ground, something like 25 ohm.
    i can't believe that a expensive meter made just for HVAC by Fluke is reading K ohms and not m ohms
    am i doing something wrong ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    Posts
    527
    Post Likes
    Nope, it just doesn't have the range. I am a fluke fan, never have cared for the fieldpiece meters. Your 902 will measure to 9999 ohms. Buy a megohm meter, the 902 is a nice clamp meter. On a side note, see if they will repair it.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    15,738
    Post Likes
    Years ago when they first teased about it, I was excited that Fluke was making a HVAC specific clamp meter.
    Then I saw the specs for the 902 and dismissed it because its ohms function is useless for motor diagnostics.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    303
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks to Fluke i mis diagnosed a blower motor and almost a compressor

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,044
    Post Likes
    Needs atleast .5m


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    8,761
    Post Likes

    FLUKE 902 AND SHORT COMPRESSOR

    Quote Originally Posted by AIRCON8 View Post
    Long story short
    i have a Fluke FC 902 a very nice, and expensive, clamp meter.
    Today i was homing a shorted compressor for the first time with this meter, and was showing OL.
    So i checked with my cheap Fieldpiece SC 53 and was showing a short to the ground, something like 25 ohm.
    i can't believe that a expensive meter made just for HVAC by Fluke is reading K ohms and not m ohms
    am i doing something wrong ?
    There may be something wrong with the meter, or the leads.

    Lead to lead on ohms what do you read?

    I would think the meter should pick up on 25 ohms to ground

    Unless you meant Megohms.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. Likes mgenius33 liked this post.
  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    303
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    what fluke clamp meter will read Mega Ohms

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    Posts
    527
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by AIRCON8 View Post
    what fluke clamp meter will read Mega Ohms
    87v, I used the 116 for years. I dont remember its scale though. Imho, even though I use the 324 for amprage readings, flukes clamp meters are really just throw away. They wont even offer repair on them.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    303
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    so no megohms on fluke clamp meters ??

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    6,923
    Post Likes
    That is a residential meter at best. If you are going to do more advanced measurements then throw that thing away.
    "Right" is not the same as "Wise".

    Don't step on my favorite part of the Constitution just to point out your favorite part.

  12. Likes Bels liked this post.
  13. #11
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    303
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by jayguy View Post
    That is a residential meter at best. If you are going to do more advanced measurements then throw that thing away.
    Its a good clamp meter, i got it 2 weeks ago but soon i've found out thats not reading megohms, and im not going to buy a DMM i cannot afford it and not enough space in my bag. As much as i like the Fluke its useless for me.
    and so far i didn't find any Fluke clamp meter with megohms function am i right ?

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    17,037
    Post Likes
    Years ago Flucks better clamps did not do ohms or voltage with no place for leads. Anyone serious ain’t using a clamp for that.

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne / Victoria / Australia
    Posts
    226
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by AIRCON8 View Post
    Its a good clamp meter, i got it 2 weeks ago but soon i've found out thats not reading megohms, and im not going to buy a DMM i cannot afford it and not enough space in my bag. As much as i like the Fluke its useless for me.
    and so far i didn't find any Fluke clamp meter with megohms function am i right ?
    Specs here list 60 k ohm max range. https://www.fluke.com/en-au/product/...s/fluke-902-fc

    Doesn't matter how much you flog a dead horse, no clamp meter is going to be able to read to the range that an actual multimeter will read up to. Maybe wherever you purchased it from will let you return it as it doesn't do what you think it will do. A lesson learnt to check specifications before you pull the pin and buy a meter.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR