Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes

    Goodman Heat Pump and Nest

    My prior Nest Thermostat died and I received a replacement. The original was installed my HVAC guy who is now out of business. I have a Goodman 5 ton heat pump (DSZC18). It is two-stage. When looking at my HVAC's wiring, I don't see the two stage wires as they should be from what I've read in the Nest Pro Installation manual. There's also a wire he labeled as * that has no function on the Nest per his programming.

    What do you suggest for confirming correct wiring of a Goodman 2-stage heat pump? Prior to needing to replace my nest cold and hot air was working fine. I'm worried the system wasn't being used efficiently by the Nest or using the 2-stage setup.

    I included pictures of the wiring I have, the Nest programmer, the Nest Pro manual, and the DSZC18 wiring diagram.

    Thanks!

    Name:  1.jpg
Views: 3981
Size:  153.7 KB
    Name:  4.jpg
Views: 4161
Size:  122.7 KB
    Name:  2.jpg
Views: 4525
Size:  103.4 KB
    Name:  3.jpg
Views: 3540
Size:  78.0 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,625
    Post Likes
    looks like he'd gone and botched it. call him back

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    11,849
    Post Likes
    That thermostat is not wired for a 2 stage outdoor unit. It is wired for 2 stages of heat.
    Nest is a terrible choice for a thermostat. You were tricked by a large advertising budget for an at best mediocre product
    I havent failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work. - Thomas Edison

    Its not whether you get knocked down, its whether you get up. - Vince Lombardi

    "In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics" - Homer Simpson

    Local 486 Instructor & Service Technician

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    27,244
    Post Likes
    Let me give you an honist opinion .....

    NEST


    SUCKS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    4,813
    Post Likes
    I suggest having a professional come out and verify which wires go where because if that's how it was originally wired, there's no way you were utilizing your two-stage heat pump. And electricity doesn't care about wire colors, so it's anyone's guess what that wire under * goes to.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    27,244
    Post Likes
    Did I say NEST
    SUCKS!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,767
    Post Likes
    Ran out of wires, possibly there is another wire behind the Sheetrock.

    Can't say I seen another green wire on the RV....sounds like they ran two separate wire bundles.

    This is confusing.....two greens and two whites....

    Looks like at least one transformer...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the feedback. At least you confirmed he was an idiot which I suspected.

    Is the Nest that bad? For a Goodman 5 ton heat pump, does it make much of a difference what thermostat I use?

    I based my decision on wirecutter's review comparison between Ecobee and Nest. The Honeywell thermostat was initially recommended, but I didn't like the interface and smart features.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,344
    Post Likes
    Ecobee is a much better thermostat.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,767
    Post Likes
    Possible they tied the 2 stages into one stage as your Y2 is not hooked up, guessing you have auxiliary heat?

    Paying for two stage and getting one stage?

    Quality question to ask the Installing Contractor

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    For the past year it seemed to work. Got cold air and hot air. By not using two stages, how efficiency am I losing?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I dont have an auxiliary heat that Im aware of. Just the Goodman Dcsz18.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    78,528
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by whyme1465 View Post
    For the past year it seemed to work. Got cold air and hot air. By not using two stages, how efficiency am I losing?
    Well, no way to put a true percentage on it. And you are also loosing a good bit of its comfort ability.

    Quote Originally Posted by whyme1465 View Post
    I don’t have an auxiliary heat that I’m aware of. Just the Goodman Dcsz18.
    Aux heat would be in the air handler, and not something you readily see.

    Call a qualified service tech out to fix all of the low voltage wiring issues.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR