+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cpvc gasketed female adapters

Post Likes

Cpvc gasketed female adapters

I'm a hvac tech and Undergoing a project for a buddy who had a bunch of pipes burst this winter. I personally have never seen a whole house pipes in cpvc but what ever. Point is even after replacing vetting leaks with new fittings afire failed pressure test once all the busted pipes where fixed in down to soap and bubbles to find the little leaks- now this may have been my mistake but I noticed that cpvc female adapters have a gasket in them- not knowing any better i wrapper the remaining galvanized with tape like I normally would with gasket in place and low and behold it leaked/ not bad just enough to piss you off- some froth with bubbles. After reasearching one manufacturer said not to use tape or dope but rather " pipe sealant" what the hell is sealant? I mean is that not pipe dope- plus I was always under the impression that dope was a no no on pvc/cpvc as the oils can damage it same with glycol- so I guess I really screwed up with soap test. Hmmmm if glycol is so damaging to pvc propelyne glycol is in dish soap? Why no controversy there?
    "It's just like it doesn't work. I mean it seems to be ok now, but it usually like never works"

"Never an always and always a maybe"

Post Likes
    Female cpvc fittings are a bad idea. Put a brass or stainless steel (SS is cheaper) coupler on the metal and thread new plastic into the coupler using standard teflon tape.
    Nest is POO!!

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by HVAC_Marc View Post
    Put a brass or stainless steel (SS is cheaper) .
    Why not just galvanized as was the way once upon a time?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "It's just like it doesn't work. I mean it seems to be ok now, but it usually like never works"

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by dave1234 View Post
    Why not just galvanized as was the way once upon a time?