Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb Coil cleaners bad for coils?

Annual maintenance as we all know will prolong the life of the system. When preformed correctly anyway. When I make a service call and im on a roof I like to always make an effort to walk around to all of the condensing unit for a quick visual inspection. A lot of the time all of the units get cleaned at least once a year if not more. Im relatively new to the trade but with being new I still have noticed a pattern. It just always seems like condenser coils that are cleaned regularly are either in really good condition or looks terrible and the ones that look bad feel like an over sized heat gun. I've only been able to come to one conclusion. The chemicals being used.

I remember my first HVAC job and when the guy that was training me pulled out that dark brown cleaner when we were cleaning a condenser coil for a yearly maintenance. When he mixed it about 4:1 and sprayed it on it looked like a high school chemistry class experiment leaving a nice shiny coil. I immediately thought that can't be good for the coil. I asked the guy if that was bad on the coil and started asking questions. His answer for the reason he used it was "It's just the way we have always done it". So with the power of the internet I began my research. First to find the SDS sheet of that product. Found that the main chemicals were Sodium Hydroxide(NaOH) at 50% and Potassium Hydroxide(KOH) at 45%. With a pH range of 11.6-13. Both chemicals with water have a chemical reaction with aluminium(Al). It seems to me that the way the cleaner and other heavy alkaline based cleaners "clean" is the cleaner has chemical reaction removing the dark grey aluminium oxide layer along with some of the Al that the dirt/grease is attached to.