Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes

    Lightbulb 2 Stage Units : Seems These Smart Units - might be Used Smarter . . `\ : - )

    This may have been Mentioned : OK on this Cool Mornings 62 Degrees , Home might be 77 inside - 15 Degree Difference - there is Usually very Heavy Dew - then the Wind Picks Up 8 MPH

    Sure seems 5 Min. to Max ( 9 min. is pretty Weak Run Time on Stage 1 ) .. Also these Smart Thermostats & MB & Sensor's could be Set to
    Cycle 3 Time at Least - say - 12 Min. then Rest 7 Min. ( Ultra Low Flow Air )
    Then 7 Min. Run , Rest for 10 min. , Run 5 Min. then Go to Stage 2 . . Just Sensing the Outside Air Temp Difference & Speed of Which Unit Cools ( Rate of Cooling - Shedding Laten Heat)
    : 40-50 Days in Spring & 80-90 Days in Fall - where this Mode Selected - Logarithm - could be used ..

    Just Saying Sure would Beef Up Stage 1 Aspect or at Least - Swamp 17-24 Min. for Higher over all Eff%

    Just Seeing Stage 1 do so much more on these Type of Mornings ..


    ps: I have a Nice 10lb. Heat Sink

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    42,352
    Post Likes
    The intelligent logic...
    Is going into the new inverter drive AC and HP units...

    Sadly... 2 stage outdoor units are probably gonna decrease in the market place.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Your comfort, Your way, Everyday!

    GA's basic rules of home heating and AC upgrades:
    *Installation is more important than the brand of equipment
    *The duct system keeps the house comfortable; the equipment only heats and cools (and dehumidifies)
    *Cheap is not good, good is not cheap; however expensive is not a guarantee of quality!
    Choose your contractor wisely!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    9,712
    Post Likes
    2- stage A/C Definitely works for me in SW FLorida.

    In the last several weeks with temperatures in 80'F s for > ~ 19 hour / day
    my unit is operating in Stage 1 ( low) for more than 90% of the time.

    The majority of the time it seems to Not go to stage 2
    unless I make a thermostat adjustment
    or
    it is > 90'F O.A.
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  4. Likes ga-hvac-tech liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Designer Dan - Good to Hear , so You have a 2 Stage - with 2 Compressors ? Which Model


    Design Logic - GA - HVAC - Good to Hear just seems every % Point that Engineers are able to Squeeze Out - really Brings Customers . . ? ( new inverter drive AC and HP units ? )
    Would Like to Trade My Unit - In If they have get ( Buyer on Slightly Used Model ) Talking Swamp Out . .

    If anyone could Expand on that - Older DC Inverter is 100% Variable , down % 60 & Up 25% above Rating . . or so ? ( so What Type of Logic are We talking ? )

    A Lot More Stat - Choices - to Customize Or is the Inverter Able to take ( Inputs ) from more then 1 Source or Built in Sensor - Please Elaborate . . . Thank You


    Old Idea - that's Been Updated : High End Work Station - Running very Cool - with No Fans & No Liquid = NOTHING but a Fancy Heat Sink - Super Quiet .
    In Case You Missed It : http://www.calyos-tm.com/calyos-nsg-...ss-desktop-pc/

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    9,712
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by QualityAssure View Post
    Designer Dan - Good to Hear , so You have a 2 Stage - with 2 Compressors ? Which Model
    TRANE XR17 is one compressor OPERATING as 2 Stages

    4TTR 7036
    TEM6AOC 036H
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    42,352
    Post Likes
    I have not kept up with the offerings of the competition...

    Most of the 2 stage units use a compressor Copeland makes... that has the ability to run at about 70% or full capacity.

    I do remember Trane was big on 2x compressor units...
    Given the new inverter units... does Trane still sell the 2x compressor units???
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Your comfort, Your way, Everyday!

    GA's basic rules of home heating and AC upgrades:
    *Installation is more important than the brand of equipment
    *The duct system keeps the house comfortable; the equipment only heats and cools (and dehumidifies)
    *Cheap is not good, good is not cheap; however expensive is not a guarantee of quality!
    Choose your contractor wisely!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Dan the Mechanical Man : Not sure what Your Set Up is for this Equipment , but I have Similar LOL 2-Stage Trane & Stage 1 _ Pretty Much does Nothing . . . (( All it does is like Pre_Chill ))

    5 Min. then Stage 2 100% of the Time . I'm at CustomTrim201@gmail , Thanks

    TRANE XR17 is one compressor OPERATING as 2 Stages

    4TTR 7036
    TEM6AOC 036H

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    2,895
    Post Likes
    Sounds like a thermostat setting is telling your system what to do. Check what setting in the thermostat is telling the system to go into stage 2.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Max Run Time 5 Min. - Hence I Mentioned Up above First Post , does this External Compressor Unit ( 2 Stage ) Need One of Those Fancy Heat Sinks like the Link :
    to the Fan Less - Liquid Less Computer -- see Link above . ?

    Basically there is No Stage 1 . . what the F(&^%( is 5 Min. going to do ? or Even 9 Min. as the Max Setting for Run Time of Stage 1 ? ( Not going to do anything ) - Period ..

    Thinking of adding 10-25 lb Finned Heat Sink , but the Dumb Factory Stat is very Limiting . . there seems to be No way to Correct It . .

    Does Adding Out side - Temp Sensor - Enable any Other Stat - Features ? ( I Don't Believe so ) so Back to Dumb Stat !

    Unless U can Prove Other Wise !

    Dan from Fla. up above Running 90% in Stage 1 - that has got to be 3 Ton Unit installed in Mini Home - Custom Programmable Stat - Super Slowed the Air - Ran Under size Condenser - Has the Cross Temp
    @ 26 Degree ..Only Pulling 255 CFM . .

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    2,895
    Post Likes
    What is your thermostat name & model #? That is the brain that tells your system what to do. Is this a zoned system?
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    OK - Comfort Control - Model TCONT624AS42DA

    Thank You for any Paths to follow ..

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    2,895
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by QualityAssure View Post
    OK - Comfort Control - Model TCONT624AS42DA

    Thank You for any Paths to follow ..
    There is a setting in the setup that can handle this issue.

    You should have your installer handle that for you.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    194
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by joemach View Post
    There is a setting in the setup that can handle this issue.

    You should have your installer handle that for you.

    OK - so there are Additional Settings that will Allow 20 Min on Stage 1 for Cool Mornings & The System just Picks up the Local Gas & Liquid Temp , Monitors that
    Kick Stage 2 on at Proper Time : BRaLOLooooooHaaaa - Yeah Right !

    Wait For It !




    That would be a Smart Comfort Unit - Hell that's what I Own . . . . . . . .


    Wait for It !







    Oh and 100% Variable Air Handler will slow down to the Proper Amount of Air to Keep the Condenser in Proper Right Range as Set Up by the Installer ..
    They Should Match - a Match is a Match - Yep that will be some Matches !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •