Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 19 of 19
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    8,222
    Post Likes
    For myself, Excell walks on water. I used Quattro Pro for years and Excell used a lot the features in Q Pro.
    I did most all my estimates using a spread sheet. First Q pro then Excell.
    Probably one of the better things a tech can do is learn how to write code for a spread sheet.
    I know the word "code" can make people run but it's actually fun.
    I should have played the g'tar on the MTV. MK

    You can be anything you want......As long as you don't suck at it.

    USAF 98 Bomb Wing 1960-66 SMW Lu49

  2. Likes mariner59, BBeerme liked this post
  3. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    495
    Post Likes
    Google Sheets works as well and has an Android App.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing

  4. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    495
    Post Likes

  5. Likes mariner59 liked this post
  6. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    5,626
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Greend88 View Post
    Google Sheets works as well and has an Android App.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing
    The link has an error...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    I was thinking this week how nice it would be to have an app that can save formulas for you and after searching this morning i finally found one!! its call “custom formulas”.

    I plugged a few hvac equation in it (capacitor test, cfm from resistant heater and total btu output.). That was easy enough and i plugged in some typical numbers and seems to work great.

    Then i decided ide put three phase voltage imbalance imbalance in it....

    I think it can be done even if not within one formula it may take a few steps i could label as voltage imbalance step1,step2 or whatever

    It can do negative numbers and up to 4 inputs but the problem i think i may have is the app is not capable of doing a delta, only subtraction. When you find the difference between the average volts and the actual volts depending on which number you use first the out come may be negative and possible screw everything up???

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    You can hack around this limitation as follows. Compute the square of the number and then take the square root of that. So for example deltaV = sqr((V_actual - V_average) ^ 2).
    Alternatively if it doesn't like taking ^2 of a negative number, you can do: deltaV = sqr((V_actual - V_average) * (V_actual - V_average)).

  8. Likes Core_d, mariner59 liked this post
  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    5,626
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by brianca View Post
    You can hack around this limitation as follows. Compute the square of the number and then take the square root of that. So for example deltaV = sqr((V_actual - V_average) ^ 2).
    Alternatively if it doesn't like taking ^2 of a negative number, you can do: deltaV = sqr((V_actual - V_average) * (V_actual - V_average)).
    Thank you very much, I believe tomorrow ill be doing this long hand, but see what i can do with that this weekend. I had no luck finding a voltage imbalance app. Funny, i thought i have seen them before.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.