Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes

    WebCTRL 6: Only one campus is unable to connect read network points on a large system

    I've got a multi-campus system, each system looking at individual network points from one program on an LGR. Everybody is happy except one place. Mapping it to anything inside the site works fine, but trying to map it to any point on another campus leaves you staring at "Waiting for I am device."

    I've made sure the target point is network visible and that com is enabled on the ANI, and I've tried binding it to points that worked on the other sites with the same result; seems to me something is preventing ANIs under this LGR from binding to outside points. Anybody know what that might be? The whole system, problem site included, is on the open internet.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Edit: I've also zapped and re-downloaded the LGR and individual controllers to no effect.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    119
    Post Likes
    Sounds like a network config issue. From the LGR in question, can you ping other LGRs? Are trends and alarms getting through?

    Could be BBMD, could be NAT, could be a million things. Can you share network diagram scrubbed of any identifying info?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,177
    Post Likes
    If it's on the internet I really hope you are using the whitelisting "firewall" driver feature. If so you need to add all the other public IP addresses to the driver whitelist. You can double check it's working and not leaving BACnet exposed with the ALC share site; http://alcshare.com/content/bacscan

    Assuming this is a NAT situation too, double check all IP addresses and net masks that document the NAT in sitebuilder. Finally double check port forwarding everywhere.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by loopypid View Post
    Sounds like a network config issue. From the LGR in question, can you ping other LGRs? Are trends and alarms getting through?

    Could be BBMD, could be NAT, could be a million things. Can you share network diagram scrubbed of any identifying info?
    Yes, yes and yes.

    The network diagram is fairly simple: one bacnet/ip network with about 15 LGRs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    654
    Post Likes
    BBMD or NAT?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by control$ View Post
    BBMD or NAT?
    NAT

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    654
    Post Likes
    Wireshark/Bacscope at problem LGR. Is FDR enabled?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    What's fdr?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    2,484
    Post Likes
    Franklin D. Roosevelt

    Or

    Foreign Device Registration

    kontrol out
    "Good" - Jocko
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Interoperability? You can't handle interoperability!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora Watch it here!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mountain/Pacific Time Zone Typicallly
    Posts
    4,589
    Post Likes
    NAT
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    My 5 yr old son "Dad, Siri is not very smart when there's no internet."


  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,177
    Post Likes
    A network diagram would help. NAT is not a really simple setup. Mapping it out and thinking about how the information flows and rechecking the details will likely go a long way here.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    654
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikemikemike View Post
    What's fdr?
    Just double check your NAT setup. I've seen FDR enabled with nat..BBMD tables with nat..Weird stuff happens, sorta kinda works some of the time.. Wipe it all clean then nat it.
    Controls, the cause of... and solution to... all your HVAC problems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR