Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    2
    Post Likes

    new rheem packaged heat pump RQPM-A060JK015 NO INDOOR BLOWER

    I have just installed a new RHEEM 5-ton heat pump. I followed the wiring diagram and used the same color code as the old Goodman unit. When I turn on the unit and set the therm for cooling, the comp and condenser fan come on but no inside blower. The strange thing is that the photo in installation instructions show a indoor blower motor capacitor but the unit does not have one. Anyone think that it is possible that the IBM was left out at the factory? does anyone have a phone number for RHEEM ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    16,003
    Post Likes
    So you don't know if theirs a fan Motor?

    This has to be DIY!

  3. Likes HVAC_Marc liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Likes

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    20,923
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by rjk_cmh View Post
    agreed!

    OP, are you serious?? Dont you have a nut driver or screw driver to GO LOOK??

    Electricity knows no color. Follow the instructions and install it per the book. Then, use your meter and your head if it doesnt work.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    20,923
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    So you don't know if theirs a fan Motor?

    This has to be DIY!
    Profile says "tech"

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    16,003
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by HVAC_Marc View Post
    Profile says "tech"
    Mine says Stud!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    20,923
    Post Likes
    mine says mafia pimp. i have a picture to prove it, too

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    16,003
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by HVAC_Marc View Post
    mine says mafia pimp. i have a picture to prove it, too
    I’ll pass on that!

  10. Likes HVAC_Marc liked this post
  11. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    3,469
    Post Likes
    I see a new 5ton heatpump running in heat mode in June. Lol

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    75,645
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by JGRICE53 View Post
    I have just installed a new RHEEM 5-ton heat pump. I followed the wiring diagram and used the same color code as the old Goodman unit. When I turn on the unit and set the therm for cooling, the comp and condenser fan come on but no inside blower. The strange thing is that the photo in installation instructions show a indoor blower motor capacitor but the unit does not have one. Anyone think that it is possible that the IBM was left out at the factory? does anyone have a phone number for RHEEM ?
    Hmmm, so you think they forgot to put in the capacitor, and the blower motor itself. I think a real tech would have opened the blower compartment up, and looked at or for the motor.

    I also think most techs would have called their distributor, if they thought Rheem had not put in the blower. Since Rheem doesn't sell directly to HVAC companies or techs.

    So did you buy this unit online?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    2
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    No this was not a DIY...I bought it from a local distributor and they did not have an answer. yeah, i know...i shouda just opened the access panel, but i was thrown by the missing capacitor. I am semi-retired, so I have not done an install in a about 2 years, and this is my first heat pump install that eliminates the IBM capacitor. After my initial post, i went back and removed the access panel and sure enough there was the IBM. So then I started checking and found the wire to the IBM was not making a connection in the wire nut. Repaired that and So problem solved. Up and running like a champ. Thanks for all the help.

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    3,469
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by JGRICE53 View Post
    No this was not a DIY...I bought it from a local distributor and they did not have an answer. yeah, i know...i shouda just opened the access panel, but i was thrown by the missing capacitor. I am semi-retired, so I have not done an install in a about 2 years, and this is my first heat pump install that eliminates the IBM capacitor. After my initial post, i went back and removed the access panel and sure enough there was the IBM. So then I started checking and found the wire to the IBM was not making a connection in the wire nut. Repaired that and So problem solved. Up and running like a champ. Thanks for all the help.
    How did you manage to wire it the same way as your Goodman and it's cooling like a champ? What did you do at the thermostat that was different?

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    161
    Post Likes
    I can tell you for a fact that no parts were forgotten. I toured the Rheem factory in Fort Smith in April, where that baby was born, and they run test every single unit there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.