Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: BluVac gripe

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    63
    Post Likes

    BluVac gripe

    I have a BluVac Pro and love the gauge. Once you use a BluVac, you won't go back, BUT I have one small gripe.

    I really don't care to have a resolution of .1 micron, and would love it if they would just use whole numbers and no decimals. I am invariably looking at the gauge in shade, bright sun, or some combination that makes it hard to read, and I miss the decimal. Just today, my helper went to check on the vacuum, and came back and said it was 1300 microns. I'm thinking, it should be lower than that, and went out to look and sure enough it was 130.x microns. Now I could care less if it's 130.1 or 130.9. A reprogram would be fantastic!!!! Does anyone think it could be accurate enough for tenths anyway?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    joeyd is the member here who reps that equipment. I have one as well. it's actually MORE precise than .1 micron but that's all they display.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,420
    Post Likes
    I suggest future revisions have either or both of the following features: a) smaller number for the decimal, and/or b) selectable precision. The Accutools scale already has selectable precision, and it sure comes in handy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Treasure coast, FL
    Posts
    7,800
    Post Likes
    First world problems, I guess. : Grin:

    At least he didn't complain about the batteries.

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

  5. Likes BALloyd liked this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Coral Springs, Florida
    Posts
    507
    Post Likes
    Bob and I had an exchange of emails today.

    I offered to reprogram his gauge for a nominal fee.

    I'm always happy to help in any way I can.

  7. Likes HVAC_Marc, kangaroogod, Gunslinger liked this post
  8. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    that's awesome! how will it re-display the numbers? No decimal point?

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Pavilion, NY
    Posts
    3,410
    Post Likes
    If i was worried about it (which i am not) I would throw a piece of electrical tape over the decimal and call it a day.

    'The more you know, the more you realize you don't know'
    ...

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    you hack


  11. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Coral Springs, Florida
    Posts
    507
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by HVAC_Marc View Post
    that's awesome! how will it re-display the numbers? No decimal point?
    The BluVac and LTE use the same code base, and the LTE has 1 micron resolution. I'll just rebuild the BluVac code using the LTE's display algorithm.

    So, it'll be an LTE with BluVac features, basically. Or a BluVac with LTE resolution. Whatever.

  12. Likes HVAC_Marc liked this post
  13. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    Can I have mine recalibrated to display beer and naked hotties when the microns get below 500?

    sorry...

    you go much above and beyond compared to most reps. it's very refreshing.

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Pavilion, NY
    Posts
    3,410
    Post Likes
    Im not sure of the industry wide need, but it would be cool if you put a pressure transducer in the uvac and displayed a simple pressure with corresponding boiling point at a low enough price point. The thought is for the standard maintence visits it would have near zero loss when connecting and disconnecting and could be used with accuracy on both the high and low side. Small accurate gauge to throw in the tool bag instead of lugging the 6' hoses and manifold.

    'The more you know, the more you realize you don't know'
    ...

  15. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by kangaroogod View Post
    the 6' hoses and manifold.
    this is because you're tall like a giant and have long arms.

    im short and fat. i have 4 foot hoses.

  16. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mn the state where absolutey nothing is allowed
    Posts
    2,349
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by kangaroogod View Post
    Im not sure of the industry wide need, but it would be cool if you put a pressure transducer in the uvac and displayed a simple pressure with corresponding boiling point at a low enough price point. The thought is for the standard maintence visits it would have near zero loss when connecting and disconnecting and could be used with accuracy on both the high and low side. Small accurate gauge to throw in the tool bag instead of lugging the 6' hoses and manifold.

    'The more you know, the more you realize you don't know'
    they already have manifold with built micron gauge,,

    now you want a micron gauge with a pressure gauge built in???????
    my boss thinks its possible to repeal the laws of physics

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •