+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Steamer building pressure in cabinet

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

Steamer building pressure in cabinet

I'm new to steamers but I'm working on a stack of Groen HY-5E's. The lunch ladies report the doors blow open with some force. I don't get it. It's an atmospheric steamer that's not supposed to develop any pressure. The boiler has a 1/2 psi relief valve and the drain line is wide open! I would think steam would more readily go out the drain than force the door latch open. Recently I separated the drain lines because the top and bottom were tied together and the steamers were making a loud popping sound while both were in operation. I thought maybe it was too crowded in there with the condensate spray and all the steam. They have been quiet since running a new drain for the top steamer but now other pressure problems. Today I verified the drain is not blocked anywhere from the cabinet to the end. I removed the small orifice from the condensate hose and made sure it wasn't clogged and had clean entry into the drain. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    does the relief work?
    Nest is POO!!

3. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post.
    Post Likes
    Check the probe level sensors for lime build up. Especially the top ones for each chamber. I had 1 that was filling too high because the top sensor wasn't shutting the water off. We had popping, gurgling,reliefs going off ect. Each cavity has it's own relief also. Not easy to get to.
    There's TREACHERY AFOOT!!!

5. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post.
    In a kitchen with my head stuck in an oven
    Post Likes
    Is the drain installed properly?

Check page 8 and 9:
    http://download.partstown.com/is-bin...O-HY3E_spm.pdf

Post Likes
    Drain trapped?

You said you cleaned the condensate orifice but did you confirm the valve is opening and water is going down the drain?