Post Likes

Removing JACE from site

I've got a site with an existing JACE that's no longer going to be used by the customer (they've standardized on another frontend system). They would like it removed.

I'm not an expert on JACEs and I'd like to confirm it's not writing or transferring any important commands between controllers on site. Where would I check in the UI for this? If there is anything that it's doing it can be moved over to the new system.

Post Likes
    Wireshark if it is using the BACnet protocol.

kontrol out
    "Good" - Jocko
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Interoperability? You can't handle interoperability!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora Watch it here!

Post Likes
    You would have to look at which points under each device is writable and then look if anything is linked to those points.

In the points folder under the device and then either the wiresheet or right click on the point and look at the link/relation view for anything. Could be tedious depending on what you have at hand. If your accessing with just the browser, they may not have embedded workbench which you will likely need. Wireshark for bacnet would sort out any thing that's being written to pretty quick. Once you find something dig up that device and look a the points for links.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

Post Likes
    This may sound a bit facetious but it's been a useful trick once or twice: