Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    176
    Post Likes

    Induced current or shorted wire

    I'm trying to figure out why two wires from my thermostat cable are inducing a current. Both units and both cables. When the unit is started I'll get about 6 to 10 volts AC between those two wires and it seems to increase when the blower turns on. Wires are connected to N/O setpoints and are not connected to any volage source during testing. Has anyone ran into a issue like this? Im trying to eliminate that current because Im using it for dc signaling.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    If you disconnect the wires from the board (I know it's N.O.) do you still have the induced current? If yes, then the problem lies in where the wire is running to and from. If not, then the problem lies in the board.

    Signaling cables are usually shielded. you may have to run different wires, too.

  3. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    176
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Voltage can be read whether its connected or not. There is a static voltage and as 24v components get turned(relays,contactors), on voltage increases. By passing yellow cooling wire and turning on contactor from r shows no voltage increase. On those setpoints.current induced on green and white wires.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    If it's truly disconnected from everything and you have just wires end to end, AND there's induced power, you need to start looking where the wire runs:

    - next to ballasts
    - along other high voltage wiring
    - near transformers

    and the like

  6. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  7. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    176
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Ive notice this same issue on another system under similar Conditions. It seems the extra non used thermostat wires within the same sleeve of the live ones induce voltage, Ive read about 2 to 4 volts ac. Is this your similar experience?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    There was a problem similar to that with Lennox thermostats. The wires often picked up "signals" from other wiring. The solution was to use either shielded cables or a very specific way of grounding the unused wires.

  9. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •