Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Spartanburg SC
    Posts
    103
    Post Likes

    Backfeeding transformer for shop power

    I fully understand this could be extremely dangerous if I donít do it right and I am not going to do anything until Iím 100% certain what Iím doing.

    My local liquidation auction has tons of industrial transformers ending in the next few days. Very few very low bids on them. They are mostly 15-75kva 1ph 480-240/120 stepdown xformers. Some 3ph and other misc. Iím setting up my new shop soon and while I donít need it yet, I love having options. Would it be possible to backfeed a transformer to produce 480v from 240? My shop only has 240 1ph. Iíd love to get 3 ph someday but thatís a future project. My current understanding is that what Iím wanting to do is possible and safe. I understand that in theory I will get a 3-4% drop from expected on secondary voltage at no load and 5-6% at full load. Iím also unsure how/where my neutral would be produced. Any thoughts?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Caledonia WI
    Posts
    1,929
    Post Likes
    You can't get three phase from single phase with a transformer.
    It's not what you're capable of doing that defines you, it's what you do on a daily basis.

  3. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Spartanburg SC
    Posts
    103
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by billg View Post
    You can't get three phase from single phase with a transformer.
    I know, Iím referring to single. Although thereís not really anything Iíd ever need 480 1ph for... I think some well pumps use it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,335
    Post Likes
    I'm currently looking for a buck/ boost R3 transformer.
    480volt primary 240 volt secondary 10kva 1phase.
    I wonder if they have one like that ?
    Yes with this type of transformer you can wire them either way. You can not change the phase.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Spartanburg SC
    Posts
    103
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    I'm currently looking for a buck/ boost R3 transformer.
    480volt primary 240 volt secondary 10kva 1phase.
    I wonder if they have one like that ?
    Yes with this type of transformer you can wire them either way. You can not change the phase.
    Smallest they have is a 15kva 480P 240s 1ph. Would that work for you?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,335
    Post Likes
    If you know the make and model I could look up the physical size. Existing one fits in a outdoor enclosure.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Spartanburg SC
    Posts
    103
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    If you know the make and model I could look up the physical size. Existing one fits in a outdoor enclosure.
    Looks about the size of a suitcase.





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,335
    Post Likes
    Any R3 enclosure types. Those are indoor I need outdoor.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by billg View Post
    You can't get three phase from single phase with a transformer.
    yes you can. there's electronics involved and they are $$$$$$$ Another member here helped my friend out with finding a single phase to 3 phase transformer. They cost more than the rotary converters that are designed for the same higher loads.

  11. Likes VTP99, DavidDeBord liked this post
  12. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Caledonia WI
    Posts
    1,929
    Post Likes
    Than it's not just a transformer, is it?
    It would be like hooking up a drive powered off single phase to power a 3 phase transformer, or something to that effect.
    Making a 3 phase converter is simple and cheap anyway, so why bother.



    Quote Originally Posted by HVAC_Marc View Post
    yes you can. there's electronics involved and they are $$$$$$$ Another member here helped my friend out with finding a single phase to 3 phase transformer. They cost more than the rotary converters that are designed for the same higher loads.

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by billg View Post
    Than it's not just a transformer, is it?
    It would be like hooking up a drive powered off single phase to power a 3 phase transformer, or something to that effect.
    I forget exactly who it was who referenced it for me. Maybe kangaroogod. Anyway... It *looked* like a giant transformer in a box. I assume there was a a separate control board that made a phase offset for the 3rd leg. I do remember is was LARGE DOLLARS vs. a rotary 3 phase converter.

    A drive changes frequency so i dont think it'll really apply to this discussion.

  14. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  15. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Spartanburg SC
    Posts
    103
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by billg View Post
    Than it's not just a transformer, is it?
    It would be like hooking up a drive powered off single phase to power a 3 phase transformer, or something to that effect.
    Making a 3 phase converter is simple and cheap anyway, so why bother.
    Tell me more about this simple and cheap 3 phase converter... all options Iíve seen are pricy and intensive.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  16. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    21,628
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Supa-Heat View Post
    Tell me more about this simple and cheap 3 phase converter... all options I’ve seen are pricy and intensive.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    There isnt one. The transformer by itself was like 9k. The rotary converter was around 3-4k.

  17. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •