Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,358
    Post Likes

    Digicool worth this price?

    Local supplier has one in the hard case it's just missing the temperature clamps. So it's just a hard case and the manifold. Only asking $170. Should I jump on it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    44,232
    Post Likes
    AK900 head for $170... yeah, I would grab it.

    You still are gonna have to find temp sensors... they are not K-type though...
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Your comfort, Your way, Everyday!

    GA's basic rules of home heating and AC upgrades:
    *Installation is more important than the brand of equipment
    *The duct system keeps the house comfortable; the equipment only heats and cools (and dehumidifies)
    *Cheap is not good, good is not cheap; however expensive is not a guarantee of quality!
    Choose your contractor wisely!

  3. Likes vin lashon liked this post.
  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,358
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I already have an AK 900 head and clamps. I was actually thinking of buying the other one for a spare because it was such a good price


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    44,232
    Post Likes
    Sounds like a deal to me...

    I bought an extra (full set) for something like $300 in the winter...
    And bought a couple of extra sets of clamps from Doug's website (think they are all gone now).

    Bottom line: having an extra never hurts...
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Your comfort, Your way, Everyday!

    GA's basic rules of home heating and AC upgrades:
    *Installation is more important than the brand of equipment
    *The duct system keeps the house comfortable; the equipment only heats and cools (and dehumidifies)
    *Cheap is not good, good is not cheap; however expensive is not a guarantee of quality!
    Choose your contractor wisely!

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    15,738
    Post Likes
    Easy solution if you ever need more temperature sensors, and would like some better than the original.

    Mod it to use cooper-atkins probes.
    This is my old DRSA-1250, but I did it to my AK-900 too.






  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    mass
    Posts
    579
    Post Likes
    Mark, what manifold is that you have on the 1250 ?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    7,507
    Post Likes
    If it's in a hard case, it is most likely a UEI AK940, not an AK900.

    The 940 comes with teflon hose seals, 1/8" connectors for temp. And no hose parks.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    15,738
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by grayghost View Post
    Mark, what manifold is that you have on the 1250 ?
    "The Sherman" manifold, by Thermal Engineering.
    Around 2010 it is the manifold that came with the $750ish DRSA-1250 + manifold package from TrueTech Tools.
    It is machined from very high grade aluminum, and quite heavy for a manifold.
    Sadly, it is no longer available.

    http://www.whaleyfoodservice.com/Equ...ls/TML0092.pdf

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    DFW,TX
    Posts
    4,190
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    Easy solution if you ever need more temperature sensors, and would like some better than the original.

    Mod it to use cooper-atkins probes.
    This is my old DRSA-1250, but I did it to my AK-900 too.





    what Jacks did you use and where to get them? how did you know what wire combo was for SH and SC? how did you wire them solder or crimp with heat shrink? i need to do this to both of my sets..

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,358
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by 71CHOPS View Post
    If it's in a hard case, it is most likely a UEI AK940, not an AK900.

    The 940 comes with teflon hose seals, 1/8" connectors for temp. And no hose parks.
    It's the AK900


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    7,507
    Post Likes
    Then, what are you waiting for? I'll give you 150 for it!

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    5,906
    Post Likes
    I have done the same mod. Works great


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,358
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Local supplier has one digicool AK900SC left for $325. I thought about buying it for a spare is it still worth having one even though Parts may not be available anymore


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR