Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    571
    Post Likes

    you know your customer has had enough ..

    when they pay you to yank a 1 1/2 year old unit off the roof, rip off the curb and replace it all with Carrier equipment. this customer has had nothing but problems with a Sunliner since it was installed. multiple Simplicity board failures, constant fault code 9 issues, I even put 24 volt tattletale's on every single limit and safety trying to narrow down what was giving the fault and not a single one ever tripped. went through the harness and controls completely and never did find a reason for the constant issues. and it wasn't the same issue every time, it was random different stuff. when the customer was asked what they wanted us to do with the unit we removed their reply was dump it in the distributor parking lot.. it now sits in our scrap pile.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    you will attract more flies with honey than with vinegar, but you can attract the most with a dead cat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    1,033
    Post Likes
    Replace the contactors. We had a few units with similar problems. That's what the factory told us. I also went down the road with 24v tattletales and inline breakers ect. Replaces the contactors and everything went away.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northern NV
    Posts
    2,082
    Post Likes
    ......and the curse of the $9 chinese contactor continues.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Northern Idaho
    Posts
    1,033
    Post Likes
    I have also seen a failed contactor cause odd issues on a york.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    3,042
    Post Likes
    You guys are causing @Bald Menace to pull his hair out! Oh wait.....hair? Probably as domed as me☺!

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,177
    Post Likes
    There may be an issue with the contactors..... but I have two units where I replaced all the contactors, and the code nine persists.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Likes
    One of our clients did the same thing, but he didn't change brands instead he threaten York (JCI) with legal action and got another York RTU for free, been a year or so since and so far no problems with the new unit.
    There is not better place for the working men than the union! 100% UA the only HVAC union!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    3,042
    Post Likes
    I see almost no Yorks. I do remember a small board that the tstat wires land on I think. Is that a lockout board or isolation relay setup or?
    Worked on 2, UCP units brand new, installed by someone else. Someone is installing a lot of them around here.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    531
    Post Likes
    I thought tattles tales were no good with most control boards? There's probably not enough current flowing through the safety controls to trip one even if it does open.

    I know they won't work with Carrier lock-out boards, cause it'll lock out quicker than a tattle tale takes to blow. That one took me some time to figure out. Maybe Simplicity boards are the same way?


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3,773
    Post Likes
    jci plus York = unreliability.

    or profit center all that jci really cares about.
    jci is the apitomy of hvac.

  11. Likes HeatenCoolair liked this post.
  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    PA USA
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    I had same issues on one. Replaced both contactors, problem resolved. Ohm out the coils. I believe they should be 4-7 ohms. Thw ones i replaced were almost 9 ohms. With the higher resistance the board may not be seeing full 24 volts our of contactors causing error code 9.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    571
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    one day I was there for a no heat again and had the unit sitting idle with stat wires disconnected from the control board. i'm sitting on hold waiting for tech support (I was number 32 in line) and out of the blue it starts flashing fault code 9...for no reason with no input from stat..
    you will attract more flies with honey than with vinegar, but you can attract the most with a dead cat

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    158
    Post Likes
    Went back 3 times on a one of those for the same alarm. 3rd time . Went old school. No board .Relays tstat contactors .


    Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

  15. Likes Bald Menace, RV10flyer, BBeerme liked this post.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR